My Internship Experience

in #life6 years ago (edited)

29258077_1819875601376167_6886004938351050752_o.jpg

I was so excited at first of the idea that I’m going to find a company for our OJT. My idea of looking for OJT is just an easy not until it got three of OJT hunting and I can’t still find a company. I tried many company’s but they will just tell me that they will call me but they didn’t, they all rejected me. Because I will be having a short span of time to comply all the requirements, so I need to find a company as soon as possible. Due to my desperation, I tried looking for companies around Alabang. I saw my classmate there working at Convergys and he referred me, he said that the Company need an Intern so I grab it even if my house is far from my house.

There is an orientation held before I start my OJT in Convergys, we were given the Do’s and Don’ts during our training, like what we supposed to act, to wear, and tips on how to do well. What is the proper make-up to wear and the attitudes while on training. We were also given all the requirements we should comply before and after the OJT. Right after the orientation and enrollment we immediately complied all the requirements that were needed to be submitted before we can start the OJT.

In my first day of my internship I was so nervous and pressured I was afraid that I might make mistakes until the site Senior HR generalist talked to us, she said that this internship is a training ground to us before going to the real word. Making mistakes is a part of our life, as long as we learn from them. My first task as and intern in Convergys is the 201 files. We intern need to audit the files of the employees if they are all complete and if they submitted all the required documents. The next task I assigned is registering the employees to the BIR account. Each of the new hire employees need to register in order to transfer the RDO code of the employee to change their employer’s name and tax. I was happy that I was assigned to that task because it is more a line to our course since we’re using an application that it in access database. I was surprised when our supervisor announced that she needs an intern to go with her in the New Hire Orientation and she picked me. I was feeling ecstatic when the first I entered the production area. It’s an area where the agents take their calls of there customers, explaining what to do and how the gadgets work. During the orientation I learned a lot of policies of the company, I learned the benefits and other terms of the company. The next task that assigned to me is the accepting of the requirements of the new hire employees and also the BDO forms for enrolling their payroll account. I checked every document that they passed and signed their checklist know that I’m the one who accept their requirements.

It wasn’t easy for me since I still have a class to attend every Thursday and Friday. I learned to wake up early since my house it in General Trias and I need to travel two hours to work. As the month of December, the company is having a reach out program that called “Give a Bag of Hope” we prepare hundreds of bag and schools supplies inside for the children in Batangas. We also wrapped some gifts for the Missionaries of the Poor in San Andres, Manila. The gifts are for the elderly people who have been abandoned by there family. We also wrapped some foods, toiletries, goods and condiments for the elderly people and also another hundreds of bags for children’s in San Andres.

The next task that assigned to me is the encoding and tracking the disciplinary actions of the employees. The work is not easy, I need to be careful in and check it carefully before I approved the disciplinary actions. I was to one who checked the sanction that’s why I need to read and familiarize the Code of Conduct and the Attendance policies of the company. Sometimes I was the one who issue of the disciplinary action of the employee if their immediate supervisor failed to issue. I was happy and pressured also when my supervisor told me that I have now my own station, with a computer to use in tracking, encoding and an Avaya phone for answering some concerns of other supervisors and employees. When someone walk-in the office I was the one who will answer their concerns about the forms of the loans in PAG-IBIG and SSS. Also, the benefits of the Phil health and the Health Card.

It was January when I begun to encode the Seplog or the terminated or resigned employee. I was going to read that clearance form and encode all the important importation and the reason for the attrition. I was also encoding and tracking for the LOA or the leave of absence of the employee. I will put the start and end date of the leave and the reason. I was also attending some admin hearings of the HR, it is for the employee who commit a violation that has a first offense is dismissal or for show cause notice. I was also the one who make some RTWO or the Return to Work Order notice for the employee and also tracking them if they’re successfully delivered. Last February my supervisors important file got deleted, she panicked and got really scared because it’s really important file. I’m happy that I can apply the things that I learned in school because I successfully retrieved the file and I’m so proud of myself.

It was really hard to let go for my internship, I became closed to my supervisor and other HR personnel we shared a lot of memories in four months and it’s really hard to let go because they became like a family to me. I learned to much in my four months of internships. The internship was beneficial to me for a number of reasons. To begin with, I learned basic responsibilities of a job such as being on time, keeping a near perfect attendance record, and knowing that if I did not finish my work there were real consequences instead of possible extensions for assignments. I learned to be my own supervisor because my supervisor would not stand over my shoulders all day; the responsibility was now on my shoulders. This was very different from completing assignments for classes in school because in school you get a syllabus, you have friendly reminders from your professor and classmates, and you are generally given extra time if something comes up. In the internship, I got a little taste of how that all ends when you get a real job; everyone expects you to be an adult by then and delegate your time properly.
Time management is a necessary skill that develops through internships. Overall the internship was a great experience. It gave me a chance to interact with people and fellow interns and get an understanding of how the HR department works. The Internship program was a great opportunity to gain valuable work experience in talking to other people.

Sort:  

Hai..@justinegeez good post, and i like to read your articles and experience you have try to share city and follow

I'm new here in steemit. Can you give me some tips?

Hai...@justinegeez we also do not much different, according to information from my friends, in steemit we multiply the relationship, there is also a commemorative steemit and post interesting or useful for readers

hi...@justinegeez can we share information and be friends if no objection may i know where do you live and work?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50