My Migraine Dilemma And Some Things You Might Want To Know About

in #life7 years ago (edited)

How's it going Steemians?!

Ever had a relentless headache for how many hours until you take in medication, so that the pain would cease?

If so, high five on that.

In my case, I do experience migraine every month prior to the start of my menstrual cycle. Somehow, I am fortunate enough because I know how to control it before it worsen, by the time it would hit me. I take mefenafic acid to soothe the hurtful sensation.

I clearly know that it really is not good to depend on medicines as it would make you immune in the long run, however I have no choice but to do it, because I don't really have that much tolerance for pain especially that my migraine usually cause too much torment on my part. One time, I tried to endure the discomfort but it resulted me to vomit disgustingly.

2018-01-11 18_19_52-Greenshot.png

image source

What triggers migraine?

I did a previous post about this before and on my research, according to medicalnewstoday.com, the cause of migraine is largely unknown, and they tend to affect people who are about 15 to 55 years old.

The same site reiterated:

"It is thought to be due to abnormal brain activity causing a temporary alteration in the nerve signals, chemicals, and blood flow in the brain".

Are there symptoms that we can take note of?

Naturally, I could not fathom why I even experience such. Yet, I still consider myself lucky enough because I can determine typical symptoms when it's starting to blast off my head (not literally 'though). The most common that I experience is when my eyes get strained and suddenly become sensitive to light. The pulsating pain in my head is increasing especially when I am doing some physical activity. Then, I would feel sick and feel like vomiting.

I found out that there are also some people who experience different symptoms from my recurrent ones. Some would even experience diarrhea, stomachache, temperature changes, and sweating. Some would become sensitive not only to light but to sound, as well.

2018-01-11 19_36_08-Greenshot.png

image source

Is there any treatment we could get for migraine attack?

Unfortunately, there is no cure for migraine at present as per Dr. Helen Webberley in her article. (Check source of information here).

What we can do as preventive measures, however, is to have some modifications to our lifestyle.

  • One thing is getting enough sleep, if you don't get one.
  • Reduce stress by staying away from factors causing it.
  • If you are not fond of drinking plenty of water, then it's time that you do.
  • Try to engage in regular physical exercise.
  • There are also certain foods that you can avoid that could trigger migraine (examples include foods containing tyramine,monosodium glutamate (MSG) or nitrates).

Nevertheless, please take note of what the doctor pointed out on this article source:

"Triggers do not always cause migraines and avoiding triggers does not always prevent migraines."

2018-01-11 19_51_14-Greenshot.png

image source

In the past days....

In every migraine attack that I experience, I tried to tolerate the throbbing pain up to the utmost or before it becomes full-blown. When I noticed that I am already at the point of vomiting, then I had to take an over-the-counter medicine, which I have in stock.

I read in the same article, that migraines could last for hours and even days. It was true to me, and I don't want to undergo similar severe migraine that I had a few years back. What I do is I take pain killers forthwith, before it could attack me big time.

I hope I did impart some insights today, especially to the people who've been suffering this same ailment. Always stay in good shape, you guys! :)

PhotoGrid_1508745993775.jpg

steemitgif.gif

PLEASE UPVOTE, FOLLOW and RESTEEM!
Sort:  

My boyfriend had a crazy migraine problem too. I'm talking about the past because the last few months have been much less. There were severe pain attack in 4-5 times a week and even the heaviest medicines didn't work well. Nowadays it is very light headache occasionally and can be solved with a coffee or a lightly dosed painkiller. We do not know exactly which one makes this improvement, but we have some ideas. He had first quit smoking about 3 months ago and this is a huge impact. The last 5 months have also reduced the refined sugar and grain products in particular and increased daily protein. These worked for him, maybe you can consider them too.

That's great news for your boyfriend. I actually take coffee regularly but I would take note of your tip on the increased daily protein intake. I don't usually have refined sugar though. The mefenamic acid works well for me as long as I take it before the migraine gets worse. Thank you so much for your input. I will remember this. :) @punky.

Migraine is annoying and painful. Thanks, good information.

It is definitely! :)

Thanks for information,I think i had also migraine because i had experience that i had headache almost 3-4times a week.i think I should console to doctors.

You're welcome. Yes, it is better to seek medical advise from the doctors.

Speaking of migraines, i guess drinking coffee and chocolates worsens the attack.. It really hurts.

hmmm.. well I guess I have to lessen my coffee intake too if that's the case, but what can I do, my life begins after coffee.. hehehe

I suffer from Vestibular Migraine too. Sucks big time. It can go on days despite taking medicines. I would get aura days before and would try to prevent it by taking medication early on - just like what drs usually advise, but still wouldn't work. It became even worst when I started taking oral contraceptives pills. Although my OB gyne advised me about it, I still chose to take pills because it might cause me more headache if I get to have more kids (haha).

I hope we get to find what can cure us. :-)

I had a former officemate before who suffered the same thing as you when she was taking oral contraceptive pills. She also got no choice but to endure it, because the pills were her medication (I just forgot what was it for, if I'm not mistaken it was because she was kind of suffering from hormonal imbalance).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48