I Want To Be A Better Juliet

in #life6 years ago

Have you ever for once or more wanted to be something or someone else?

Well, I have - countless times I must say.

Only this time, I want to be the ME of my dreams

image
Source

Who Am I

My name is Juliet Israel, a writer - you may not think I am but that's what I call myself 🤷🏻‍♀🤷🏻‍♀

Because I write.... Lol, yeah right.

Sometimes, when I read write ups from different people, I'm amazed at how they can put these words together that it appears so great and enticing unlike mine.

No doubt, I've written great write ups too but then, sometimes I feel I'm not doing enough.

Why ain't I writing so marvelously?

Why don't people appreciate my write ups?

Why doesn't it gain much traction?

These questions and more leave me feeling like a jerk at writing.

Don't get me wrong, I love writing.

Like I really do love communicating my thoughts via my pen.

But then, what happens when the juice stops flowing.

Who Do I Want To Be

I'd undoubtedly want to be ME over and again if asked this question.

I guess I'm here for a reason, a purpose.

Wanting to be something else I wasn't would sort of be so demeaning to my creator.

Let's assume you got me a gift and instead of saying thank you, I go about complaining about how I wish it was something else without actually utilizing it to maximize it's functions and specs.

That's why I would want to be me always.

Only a slight change.

The Me Of My Dreams

Growing up, I've always wanted to be a speaker 🔊

I loved to be known and respected for being a renowned speaker.

That my words would birth giants in our time and in times to come.

I wanted my words to speak volumes to the lives of many and give directions to paths.

But then, that was all a dream....maybe, a day dream.

I know I still have the possibility of being the ME I want to be but then it requires hard work, consistency and diligence among many others.

Am I ready to pay the sacrifice?

Sacrifice my time, energy and required necessities?

Am I ready to give up my comfort for torture?

Am I ready to remain consistent despite this busy world?

All these and more are questions I keep asking myself when I think 🤔 about my decision of being a better version of me.

You can be anything you desire to be only if you're willing.

This is my entry into @wolfje's writing competition.

If you could be anything, what would you be and why

Sort:  

Great entry and I love hearing you're happy with who you are, we should all stop pretending to be someone else and try to be perfect and just appreciate what we've been given at birth.

Exactly....
Thanks much for the opportunity

It definitely made me look within.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65