A Window On Seville

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It's Monday morning on a beautiful September day in Seville. I roll out of
bed and stumble down stairs for my coffee fix. My dreams were filled with
strange events last night, but I can't quite recall what happened. Ah well,
it was another one of those nights. I muster up all my resources as I make
my way down the stairs. All my mental energy is focused right now on
getting that coffee.

I cross the narrow road to the cafe opposite. There are no footpaths. Just
one stretch of cobble stoned street connecting the "Hostal" to the road
(for cars and horse carriages) to the cafe area, where a dozen tables are
spread out on the same stretch of cobble stones. The occasional horse
carriage passes by, emitting that lovely galloping noise which is
reminiscent of something like the era of the Musketeers. In fact, they pass
so often that you almost forget they are there, except that my senses are
too easily aroused with every passing carriage.

Seville is full of such carriages in the old part of the city surrounding the
magnificent Gothic Cathedral--the second or third largest in the world.
I think to myself, I don't know if I can ever bring myself to leave this
beautiful city.

Paris was fascinating and seems to contain everything you could
possibly want. You could live there for years and never exhaust its riches
and resources. But I escaped the cool weather in Paris. I left just as it was
turning cool and flew to Seville where summer started all over again
for me.

I sip on my coffee and think how much I would love to bring my friends
here for a taste of Seville: its balmy air, its ancient streets and ornate
Churches, its mystical atmosphere, its warm and friendly people, its
range of tapas, and its healthy dose of flamenco music and dancing.

No, no, no, I think to myself: they would never come, most of them! You
would need a canon ball explosion to shift them from their comfort zone!

Even so, I am here right now, and I can make the most of this experience.
Not only to discover what's out there, but also to deal with what's in here,
inside the soul--that which surfaces more easily the more detached I am
from my normal surroundings. Ahhh !! That just gave me a flash back to
something of that dream last night !! Mmmm...it's still mostly vague
though. Well, you never know when it might appear in all clarity.

So here I am, just returned to Seville from Santiago de Compostela.
I went there from Seville for nearly a week to visit the ancient tomb of
Saint James. Wow ! What a dynamic place !! Santiago (literally is
Spanish for "Saint James") is amazingly beautiful--even as a physical
entity. It's the closest thing to Assisi, so far. I mean, really, that is saying
something. I didn't ever think that any city would come close to Assisi,
not in any way, shape or form---what !!! Did I just say that ???
Formerly, I would have called you a heretic if you had ever dared to
make such a claim !!

Look out in both directions up and down this lovely, little,
unpretentious street, with its unpretentious inhabitants. See the
people coming and going to their workplace. I take a deep breath
and another sip of my coffee...Seville is the city that I visited many
years ago and just fell in love with this place.

It is also the area of Spain in the south that was occupied by the Arabs
some centuries ago, who influenced the birth of Flamenco music--yes,
here in Andalucia Flamenco was born. That is why many of the Spanish
here bear an uncanny resemblance to certain types of Arabic people. It
is also the reason why, when they sing out some of their Flamenco
routines, straining their voices to the utmost degree, it curdles the blood
and sends shivers down the spine.

This week I go to Krakow, Poland, for the very first time in my life. I have
never been to Poland, but every Polish person I have ever met has been
interesting. Most seem to be gentle, deep, and have a very broad and
informed view of the world.

So be it. I just hope that they speak English there!

I still have to book my accommodation there, confirm my flight, print
my boarding pass, get myself to the airport on time, think about my
next city's accommodation (going back to Paris for some time), plan
my whole life.......wait, wait, wait, I think to myself, you're getting too
ahead of yourself !!! Slow down a little !

You know, travelling alone is not all fun. There are so many challenges,
risks, dangers, opportunities, surprises, new friends, new cultures, new
customs to learn, new languages to be baffled about, new dreams to be
discovered, and so on, and so forth. It has its rewards, but don't think
for one minute that it is all a bed of roses.

So I think of my friends back home. How many are caught up in the
daily grind? How many are willing to break the routine and join me on
this adventure? How many risks can you afford to take, really?
Think about it...

And with this mandate, I hereby bring this letter to a close.

Here are some pictures of the above mentioned cafe where I am
sitting writing to you:

IMG_1512.JPG

The horse's nose is pointing to the entrance to Picasso Hostal,
the driver's head is just outside our kitchen window, and you
can see the area of the cafe where I'm sitting. And this one is a
wider view:

IMG_1514.JPG

And here is a view of a small part of the Cathedral 3 minutes
away on foot:

IMG_1313.JPG

Well, I won't show you a photo of me at this point. I am
unshaven, unkempt, and besides, I need a second cup
of coffee !

Sort:  

The effort that was not in vain to get a glass of coffee with an amazing city view. Awesome!

Ah, thanks for this! I remember Seville for oranges. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40