I'm going to buy a Drone - Choosing between DJI Mavic and GoPro Karma.

in #life7 years ago

I am already decided. As soon as the price of the Steem goes up a bit more, I'm going to buy a good Drone to shoot 4K videos and make good pictures from the air. But of course, then it's time for the million dollar question ...

What Drone buy ???


Well, the truth is that it was not very difficult for me to choose the two models among which I finally had to choose when I started looking for a little between what is now on the market. I am very interested in portability, duration of flight and above all, quality of the camera, since this is my main objective why I want to buy the device, take aerial photos and videos.

The first model I chose was the DJI Mavic.


The truth that is surprising and without encouragement to do spoiler, is my chosen model finally.

The second model that I chose as possible was the GoPro Karma.


I imagine that many of you, especially if you follow me some time ago, know that I have a GoPro 5. It is the main reason why I noticed this Drone. Well ... and also because it comes with the GoPro portable stabilizer included.

stabilization-karma-grip
Credit

To compare the quality of the camera, although I already know how it films the GoPro 5, I found this video that compares the two cameras filming similar images. Even though the Karma uses the GoPro, for me personally, the quality of the DJI Mavic's camera is much better.

What do you think?


Awesome no? When seeing this video, in my mind I already chose by the DJI but I decided to see some more review.

This was one of the most detailed I found and although the boy in the video is fairly impartial, it was very clear to see the differences between the two Drones in terms of size and portability, as well as flight time, among other things.

At this time the decision was made, but suddenly this video appeared that the only thing it did was re-affirm it.

And this last video was the last straw.

OMG! This is not a Drone, it is a Geo-Stationary Space Ship!!!


I just have to wait for some good payments in this and future publications and of course, that the price of our beloved Steem goes up, to fill my profile with amazing videos and images made with the DJI Mavic.

I have to say that several Steemit users had already recommended me the DJI Mavic as they use it often, especially @timsaid. In the SteemFest he never stopped recommending it. You should look in his profile for publications with videos and photos made with the DJI Mavic, they are impressive.

Have you thought about buying a Drone or something similar?

Do you have any of those already mentioned? Can you tell us about your experience?

Sort:  

There is nothing to decide here? Trust me take the DJI Mavic dude! I'm into photography and traveling and the Mavic wins by far! ;) It's so smooth and the quality is awesome, you have to take a look at both of them and take them in your hands, the mavic wins in my eyes. Karma is huge compared to the mavic...

My Instagram page, if you want to check some photos out... These are not full image size Images, so it's even better in original.

Amazing photos in the Instagram!!!! I am following you there (here already since a while) Thanks for living the link here.

DJI Mavic it is my final decision! :)

We used to use the DJI Phantom 2 on my old mine site to engage in pit mapping. You don't even need an RTK GPS drone to get good results in X and Y, (Long and Lat). Used in conjunction with Pix4d this is a really cool way of getting detailed surfaces/DTM etc.

The great thing about Pix4d is that you can use it for free if you just want to see what a project will look like in 3D. They also have a tonne of how to guides. You only pay when you want to export stuff.

Without RTK based drone, or ground control point the X and Y coordinates are accurate to around 0.5m. Z values require GCP though, which is fine if you are on a mine site with a surveyor. A tonne of cheap RTK kits out there though if you want to go survey a farm or something.

Really cool tech.

I borrowed it a couple of times, and when I was on break flew some remote areas we camped etc. Really cool for stuff like that. I forgot to mention the software works with any image, not just drone based.

Made a 3-D model of my house, just stuff like that. Adds a new dimension to having a drone.

Ohhh nice and very interesting! For sure is like to add a new dimension to having a drone as you well say. Will take a look to more videos about this ... once upon a time I was a topographer :)
Thanks a lot for share ur experience with us Steve!

No probs bud. Its amazing what you can do with a little low entry tech here and there now. Got a friend trying to do topographic surveys commercially in the UK with about £2,000 worth of hardware. Whereas before the entry price was much higher.

I should clarify this is not my house, or content, just an example of what you can do messing around with it.

Having seen this post and owning a go pro I'm looking into the Karma.

You honestly couldn't go wrong with the Mavic. Karma is known for the issues in the past and I honestly wouldn't trust it even today.

Mavic fits in your back bag. This is a huge plus trust me. I have DJI Phantom 3 Standard and literally the only thing I hate about it is that I can't take it with me when I go to places.

And also you shouldn't be flying over the legal altitude limit. You can get into some SERIOUS problems if something bad happens or if you get caught. (I mean yeah sure go ahead and try it "once or twice" i'm not a cop :) )

As I said, BUY THE MAVIC. Thank you

Edit: And if its possibly you could also buy some drone from the phantom 4 lineup

Mavic fits in your back bag. This is a huge plus

Since I saw it the first time that was the details that got me... I even got a chinesse version of this model to learn how to fly good.

And also you shouldn't be flying over the legal altitude limit.

What do you mean with this? I have to read carefully about all the regulations and so on... looks like is something you have to take care of really ... like not going to Nicaragua (or Cuba) with the Drone ;)

The camara of the Ph 4 is amazing too. What advantages do you see in the Ph 4 over the Mavic? (if there is some)

Thanks for the coment and sugestions!!!

PH4 has an even better camera. The camera on Mavic pro isn't that great in the end but if you're going for the portability and usefulness over the quality I recommend the Mavic Pro. This video shows the quality differences of the 2 cameras. You can notice how wide the PH4 lens is compared to the Mavics

.

PH4 is also more powerful. This can come in handy when flying in high wind speeds. But again the choice is up to you; do you want portable drone or a drone with better quality?

And yes checking your local laws is important. It has been in the news over and over again how some people fly over the limit and almost cause accidents. You don't want this to happen. Mostly you are just fine by using common sense such as don't fly over crowded areas, don't stalk other people, do NOT fly near airports and make sure that you know your surroundings to avoid accidents. These drones are toys but very powerful toys.

checking your local laws is important. It has been in the news over and over again how some people fly over the limit and almost cause accidents. You don't want this to happen. Mostly you are just fine by using common sense such as don't fly over crowded areas, don't stalk other people, do NOT fly near airports and make sure that you know your surroundings to avoid accidents. These drones are toys but very powerful toys.

I had to repeat this to myself one more time:) really important paragraph!!!
Yes, I know that the camera is much better. And not only the camera. I will need to re-think a bit. Definetely the Mavic is super portable but the Ph 4 Pro is amazing! It is made for filmakers!

https://www.djivideos.com/watch/b54304ba-150c-465c-85bf-f0ae19ae7948

I do not know if say thanks a lot or I hate u hahahahahaha. It is not so much expensive
than the Mavic btw. Hayayayayaya!!! Now I am not sure of anything :D Could get both of them also and use them depending of the conditions ;)

Actually you can get the stantard PH4 for fairly cheap. Maybe even cheaper than the mavic

The Karma might be actually be a better competitor in the future, but right now, the DJI Mavic is the way to go for compact drone in price range. I'm actually thinking about getting the DJI Inspire, but the smallest DJI drone the Spark would work for me if it had higher resolution.

Sadly the Spark film only 1080 HD and not at least 2.7K but loooks really good too.

DJI Mavic is better in many aspects and also in appearance ... Do not hesitate, that is the chosen one!✌

There could be just one! ;) hahahaha Definitely is the best in his league. Thanks!

DJI MAvic for sure.
I Just bought my self the baby brother of it the DJI Spark Great devices.

DJI Spark looks also amazing for the small size. Sad that it just film in HD and not at least 2.7K.
Thanks for the coment!

When I buy it will be the DJI. I like their products and from what I've seen, this drone is pretty darn easy to fly.

Easy to fly and the qaulity of the pics and vids ... OMG! Did I say it is also Water Resistant? ;)

I once flew my DJI Phantom in wet fog. Well one of the motors got so wet at 250 meters altitude that it broke and the whole thing came down spinning in the middle of a forest at 1am :D

Oh!!! Did u saw alreadu this video????
Pretty amazing!

Not yet. I'll watch it tomorrow :)

Best of best the dji mavic .. Please go for mavic ❤️

Yes, I will :) Thanks!

Go for the Mavic, GoPro is pulling out of the drone market

GoPro is pulling out of every market smh

I vote for DGI Mavic it even looks cooler

hahaha yes it looks cooler ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80