You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I hacked Quicken and made off with over $600,000 - True confessions

in #life8 years ago

Great Post !, WOW, so your THAT guy !, lmao .... Some of us remember you and your contributions !!!! I haven't heard CompuServe mentioned for years ... Lol, $6 per hr + long distance for me, on IBM Ps2 model 25 upgraded to a 30 (Woot! 20 MB hard drive) with 1200 baud modem (right at $3500.00)
Those were the days !
Look forward to more of your post !

Sort:  

Oh thanks, yes I'm that guy ;) lol

I wasn't sure if I had a 9600 baud or less but ("you've got mail" is still in my head from AOL. Prodigy was my favorite though)

My first programs were recorded on paper tape from a mainframe in high school then on my Atari it was on a cassette tape and it would take 15 minutes to load my 8,000 byte program ;) Or at least it seamed that long. It was many years ago. That Atari computer with 8k of memory was $1040. Just like your IBM PS2 the computers were crazy expensive and now look today you can get a computer for $5. If you haven't seen my intro you might enjoy that too.

Yes I did just read your intro, wow, what a blast from the past down memory lane ! yep your THAT guy, lol, so cool /shakes hand ! btw I LOVED the "Invalid Command" omg, lmao ... the TRS 80 had a prog called Liza or Eliza ? AI prog .. so simple .. when asked it said "Eliza, what is your name" .., blew me AWAY !

In high school our shop teacher got a TSR-80 when it came out and I remember it well. That was an amazing computer back then. Also the big Commodore PET computer was really popular.

Yes Eliza was my first run in with AI ;)

do you know if it is true that Eliza is still alive and learning, seems i ran into that some years ago, good idea for a post, lol
I should have started coding back then, but i was so into BBS's and sharing progs, i was like, Why even try, I can get everything i need from other "'grammers", what a STUPID move on my part eh ?, /sad ...
I played with the idea a cpl yrs ago Home network w/ 6 PCs (Ever try to network w/ Vista ... then win7 came out, so I gave up on linux) ...w/ Ubuntu and Ruby on Rails .. wow ... Beauty !!! Guy told me I was a Rubyist, just didn't know it !, lol look forward to chatting w/ you when Mssging is implemented ...

lol, ya, those were the days .. I started selling TRS 80s when they were 1st introduced to the market.(Think I made the 1st sale actually, at Radio Shack in Marshall, Texas) (I believe it was a test market store) the same year John Lennon was shot ... so ya, we both been playing awhile !, Good luck and can't wait to hear more from you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30