Theatre and people: connecting the gap between communities

in #life6 years ago

I'm still finding my rhythmn here on steemit. Trying to find the insparation to regularly post content here has proven difficult. I've never been much of a blogger, nor someone to keep a diary, so every post is a pretty big deal for me.

This week I find myself in Des Moines, Iowa, for the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF). I am sitting in a coffeeshop in the downtown area called "DSM Brew Coffee Company" sipping on a nitro coldbrew, it's like a beer coffee if you've never tried one.
IMG_4785.JPG
(DSM Brew Coffee Company)

This is day three of the festival, yet I already feel as though I have been here for a week. The last three days have taught me a lot, but if I could only choose one thing, it is that networking at an event like this is a lot more difficult than I could have ever anticipated.

I've been taking classes and workshops, seeing new and original theatre pieces, the whole experience is fantastic. However, no one seems all that interested in meeting new people or making new friends. Granted this is a college theatre festival, so most everyone is here with other students and faculty from their respective colleges and universities, but the overall atmosphere does not seem welcoming to outsiders.

There are still three more days of the festival, which is three more days of chances to overcome this atmosphere of exclusion. There is a great deal of good art here, I hope to create with some of these people in the future.

IMG_4779.JPG
(I took this photo last night while walking down an alleyway in downtown Des Moines, artist unknown)

I would love to hear other thoughts and opinions surrounding this idea of connection from the community here! I'll be sure to keep y'all updated on my adventures throughout this week!

Much love,
Jeremiah

Sort:  

I think once you meet one or two people, it will become a lot easier! I have a degree in theatre and I found the community both welcoming and insular, which sounds counter intuitive. I guess it was like, once you're in, you're in!

You're definitely​ right @flaversham

The community is one where once you're "in", you're in, the challenging part is getting on the inside, to begin with! I have found the whole process much easier in the Minneapolis area where I live, so I'm taking all the small victories that I can get here.

I'm so embarrassed about my incorrect use of your! I'M A TEACHER! I should probably quit now.
This is what I get for commenting right before bed.
I'm going to edit it right now, so nobody knows my shame.

Make it a game. Start on one side of the room and work your way to the other. Take as many breaks as you need. YOU have to make the connection. You can't wait on anyone else to do it. Find out 30 people's names and something about them. Your adult life is going to be full of these situations, but you'll benefit greatly by getting good at these events now. Be yourself, challenge yourself and you'll find your people. 😊 Your own professional "community of cool" will grow. Cheers.

Thanks for your thoughts @sloe I've always like the concept of turning things into games, especially when working with children but I think it works just as well for adults! I'm taking your advice and putting it into practice tomorrow, 30 people is a good place to start, gotta grow that "community of cool."

Great! Looking forward to hearing how you do. Keep trying and don't give up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41