We Already Have Everything That We Need To Live (English Version)

in #life7 years ago

DSC09872.JPG

I watched a very interesting documentary on Netflix called "The Minimalists" that talks a lot about people who are swimming against the unbridled wave of consumerism imposed by the media (advertising, TV, internet) and are looking for a simple life with everything what they need to live and nothing more.

Among all the arguments put forward in the documentary about consumerism, one that caught my attention is that in fact we do not want or need, for example, to have a new car, that smartphone of last generation or that camera with "850 focal points" and "120 MP"image resolution that was released last week. What we want or need are the benefits that these objects can bring us. What we really want is to feel complete, satisfied.

DSC09848.JPG

It is as if our satisfaction was never satisfied and even if we did not need it, we bought only to have a false sense of accomplishment, satisfaction. Actually today we are being bombarded by advertisements that are able to fulfill more than their role of only divulging a product. They want to determine that the product they sell is vital to our survival and in case we decide not to buy this product we will be fated to stay in the past or "out of fashion", "outdated."

Bringing these current examples of boundless consumerism that we see throughout the world into photography I became convinced that I don't need another camera than I already own. Today I avoid watching videos on YouTube for example from reviews of new cameras released in the market, simply because my camera already supplies my needs a lot and I intend to use it for many, many years.

DSC09849.JPG

I believe we need a lot more to be aware of what we already have, seeing new ways to reuse them than going out into the stores and spending in things that we often do not need. This also serves as a lesson for me, I've lost count of how many times I spent with what I did not need and in the end ... where is the money? Ended up.

Today for me the slogan of "Conscious Consumption" makes perfect sense and I will have it from now on not only as a slogan, but a way of life.


Thanks for reading my post!

Obrigado por ter lido o meu post!


jampb300.jpg


All photos are signed in ©, are my own and taken with my camera Sony Alpha ILCE 3500📷


js sign.jpg

Sort:  

Yes we do have everything we need. If only more understood this.

Wonder to see you here. Thanks for coming @virtualgrowth

Conscious consumption is a good slogan to live by. Also, think about what you want vs what you need. Yes, I know that consumers are bombarded with so many gadgets that promote a more simple life. But sometimes all the various gadgets complicate one's life. I believe that having too many pairs of shoes and too many clothes that glutter up one's closet my cause depression to a degree. To see clearly, we don't need so many material things, but we need to work on our outlook about life and our perspective concerning health, love and happiness. Great post!

Great comment and wonderful words, thank you:) I think that balance in this "issue" is something important too.

Yes, balance is the key. We need to have balance in all areas of our lives.

I saw this documentary. :) I have been very interested in minimalism recently and have been working like a whirlwind to declutter my home in the last few weeks. I think, so far, around 25 bin bags of stuff have gone to charity shops and another 15 bags have gone to the rubbish tip. It's just incredible how much stuff we can accumulate. My house feels so much more peaceful now... and I feel that I have space to think again!

This is wonder, great to read your experience with minimalism, i'm impressed and i agree with you. Thanks for coming here :)

Irmao, que bom post, Saludos desde Venezuela, guste muito, eu aprendi na vida a desprender das coisas materiales, isso faz muito bem a saude mental y espiritual. (meu portugués nao e tan bom), Olha meu post sobre Brasil.

Obrigado pelo seu comentário e você fala português muito bem, parabéns. Irei sim ler o seu post.

Such a good and worthy post! I salute you sir! haha Couldn't agree more. Resteeming and upvoting and following

Thank you for your words and support.

i just upvote your post please upvote me back i am waiting your vote

Please, don't vote waiting votes back. Good luck man.

ok bro nice to meet you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40