The story of a beggar

in #life6 years ago

For almost 8 years of living in Manila, I never got myself used to Jeepneys. I ride it every day, from childhood to college to working days, but I never liked it. Last night I had a different experience, it was fun, exciting, and amusing.

The story

There was a King who decided to have a walk on the streets of his kingdom. A Beggar found him and asked for a food. The King insisted that you don't ask for a food to a King, you ask for a gold. The beggar did so and the king with a mighty voice instructed his guard to pour the beggars cup with gold. To his surprise, a sack of gold was emptied but the beggar’s cup is not filled. He then asked for another sack, and another, and one after the other yet the beggar’s cup is far from getting full.

The King getting a bit annoyed asked the beggar as to what kind of cup is he holding and the beggar responded that the cup is a cup of an ungrateful heart.

Back to the Jeepney

After the seminar, I again ride a jeep from Manila to Makati. While reflecting on the story, I remember how I am always vocal on my inclination to amusement rides. And with a pinch of imagination, it felt like riding a Space Shuttle of Enchanted Kingdom (only Space Shuttle comes with a safety gear). I could have complained over traffic and the typical perks of being a jeepney passenger, but those are a manifestation of an ungrateful heart. In that instant, I realized how a simple thought can alter the state of my happiness.

Before learning the story a beggar, my subconscious mind is always busy with complaints. But I now realized that the problem is buried deep within my heart. When my heart is ungrateful no amount of good things will satisfy me.

The Lesson

The same truth can also be applied on our daily prayers. In the story above the beggar is asking only for a food but what did the King give him? Most often than not we received blessing far better than what we ask and prayed for, or so than we deserved, yet still we feel ungrateful. The first step to living our dreams is to have a grateful heart. Unless this attitude is mastered nothing in this world will satisfy us. If you feel empty know this; emptiness is a by product of an ungratefulness.

This is the lesson installed in my heart after TRC Seminar; that all the blessing are ripped, we only need a heart that is ready to receive and the beginning of that is GRATEFULNESS.

Sort:  

Such a wonderful post @jrdeomampo. So I did have to look up what a jeepny is. It was what I thought. It does seem one takes their life in their own hands a that point.

I agree with you. There are so many that look at the problem that they don't notice what the lesson is or was. If we all were to show more gratitude and be grateful for what we do have, your life changes in an immeasurable ways.

Thank you! hahaha. Jeepney is the prevailing Public Utility Vehicle in the Philippines. Keep spreading the gratitude!

Unless this attitude is mastered nothing in this world will satisfy us. If you feel empty know this; emptiness is a by product of an ungratefulness.

This is such a great story with an awesome lesson behind it. You have given us some amazing words of wisdom that all of us can really use in our lives. This post is great!

Congratulations! You have been featured in our Steemit Greeters Guild Curation Spotlight - Volume 5. We hope for this to be motivation for you to keep up the great work. You can check the post out by clicking here. Our members are here for motivation, support and knowledge so please don't hesitate to reach out!

Awesome! Thank you for your support!

What a great story @jrdeomampo. I have done a lot of reading about the subconscious, law of attraction and personal development and a common theme in all of these has been gratitude. Unfortunately I have picked up the cup of ingratitude on occasion. Great post!

Thank you @jbreheny. We are all a work in progress when it comes to living a life of gratitude.

If you woke up this morning all is good. Everything else is just the small stuff.

Yeah! Our mind is only as powerful as we believed it to be.

Thank you for this reminder! I get into that mindset as well sometimes. You are correct that we have so many blessings to be thankful for. I think a lot of the ungratefulness is a roadblock to mess with us at times. i really enjoyed this article!

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Keep of blessing people! lots of love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33