A Life Online: Day 1

in #life7 years ago

There's something exciting about writing a blog on a platform that automates all of the revenue issues for you. Steemit has changed blogging forever, and there are certainly more blockchain blogging platforms to come. Can we start calling those BLOGchain startups? I feel like that should be a thing. If you're reading this, help me make it a thing! Start using it as a category for anything that is blog related. I will do the same.

Anyway...


Back to your regularly scheduled programming.

As I said in my first post, I'm ditching normal society, and moving into a life of freedom...online. This means that I have to find ways to make a living on the internet, that don't require me to be in one place all the time. For years I've discussed building online businesses, and told people they should do it...all the while not actually making any progress myself. For the first time ever, I've dug in my heels, and am moving toward my goal.

For better...or worse...I will be living off of my online income by January 1st, 2018. This leaves right around 6 months to make things happen.

How am I Going to do it?

In all areas of life, I try to mix different ideas together as much as possible. When it comes to online income, this means taking new school ideas of doing business exclusively online, and finding ways to blend that with real life interactions, and applications.

This way of thinking led me to build my first business website in 2016. It's called jobsNWA, and it is a simple job board for he area in which I live. NWA stands for Northwest Arkansas, and what a hidden gem of a place it is! Until recently, nobody even knew we existed. Now, more than 30 people move here EVERY SINGLE DAY. The economy is booming, and filling newly created jobs is a constant need. That's where my website comes in!

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 6.52.28 PM.png
Screenshot of what the home screen will look like.

By aggregating jobs from the major job boards, as well as cultivating relationships directly with businesses, I hope to grow the site to about 500 postings per month. At that number, I would be able to live comfortably off the profits, as well as employ one other person to take over the day-to-day work. It's not that I dislike working hard, it's just that I want the stuff I am giving my time to..to matter. Freedom from menial tasks the goal. Freedom of movement, and time. I think this website is my first step in pursuing that goal.

Thanks for reading my first post! Make sure to subscribe so that you can keep up with my journey. I look forward to interacting with everyone here in the Steemit community!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jrcreech! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jrcreech! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83