What's the skinny on Shakeology? Anyone tried it?

in #life8 years ago

I'd like to take some time to go over something that I have recently invested in... my health. More specifically how I hope to improve it. 

Has anyone on here heard of the product Shakeology?

It is the mainstay product from the online health and fitness company "Beachbody". 

Shakeology claims to improve health, energy, and help you lose weight. The bad kind of weight that is. I could use a boost of all 3 so I figured I would give it a try.

Lets take a look at some of the ingredients:

Shakeology is packed with globaly sourced superfood ingredients. 

-Protein and fibers to help reduce hunger and cravings.

-Antioxidants, Phytonutrients, Vitamins, and Minerals to help fight free radical damage and to help support the immune system.

-Adaptogen Herbs which are traditionally used to help the body adapt and respond to the effects of stress.

-Prebiotics, Probiotics, and Digestive Enzymes which help nutrient absorption and support regularity and healthy digestion.

Here's a look at the nutrition facts on the back:

The strong selling points are that you can get so much nutrition out of a single drink. How many fruits and vegetables would you need to eat to match all the nutrition you'd get from a single glass of Shakeology? 

Also the price can be a detriment or strong selling point depending on how you look at it. For one, how else can you get the nutritional equivalent of at least $41 of fruits and vegetables in a single glass without spending... well $41?

However,

When strictly comparing it to other health food drinks it can be quite pricey. 

I ordered my first box from Beachbody a couple days ago, and it wasn't cheap. It came in a nice box and each packet has a nice sleek look:

Here is look at the individual packet:

The 64 thousand dollar question will be, does it work? I don't have the answer to that yet as I have only take it a couple times thus far. It doesn't taste bad though, which if you have any experience with health food drinks is a huge plus!

Let me know if you have had any experiences with Shakeology or other healthy drinks that do what they say they will!

*Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with beachbody or shakeology in any way, just a guy trying to improve his health :)

Sources: http://www.shakeology.com/en_US/

Follow: @jrcornel

Sort:  

Does it work? Work at what? What are the effects you are hoping to see from this? Weight, energy, cravings, digestive regularity, Gosh.

"Shakeology claims to improve health, energy, and help you lose weight. The bad kind of weight that is. I could use a boost of all 3 so I figured I would give it a try."

I wish you all the luck.

I don't see any big difference in compare with sport nutrition :))

have you tried both?

Good luck! I started a few months ago drinking the shakes 5 days a week. dropped 15 pounds fairly quickly. If you sign up to be a beachbody coach (which I did), you get a pretty good discount on the shakes.

Oh nice! Yea my mom is signed up as a coach so I can buy them through her and get a better deal on them as well. Do you still drink them 5 days a week? One thing I have noticed for sure is that I have some really foul smelling farts... ha :/

I'm usually pretty good with the 5 days a week still. I'll have them for lunch when I work, so sometimes I'll slack off a bit if I'm off work (vacation). Yup, the farts come and go, lol. I would also get those when I would juice a lot, I just figured its bad stuff leaving the body lol!

Ok, glad I am not the only one! I was thinking it had something to do with how my body is digesting it... a lot of methane is created during the process apparently... and it sure is the smelly kind! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57249.56
ETH 2352.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38