Food Review: Rubio's Coastal Grill

in #life8 years ago

I had the pleasure of eating at Rubio's Coastal Grill the other day and boy was I impressed. If you are not familiar, it is a Mexican restaurant combined with a Seafood restaurant that focuses on fresh food. The resulting combination is something quite tasty. Different kinds of fish tacos are some of the mainstays of the restaurant.

You can check out their website here:

https://www.rubios.com/

The Food:

The company prides itself on using only fresh food. To top it off, they don't actually start preparing the food until you order it, now that is a novel idea. :)

This comes directly from their website:

"At Rubio's, we believe that when you put the best ingredients in, you get the best food out. That's why we use sustainable seafood, all natural chicken raised without antibiotics, fresh produce, stone-ground corn tortillas and more. We're always working our hardest to get fresh food on your plates."

I feel like most restaurants say something like this, but when tasting their food, I actually believe it. Just as a tiny example, the lettuce has a certain "crunch" to it that lets you know it hasn't been sitting out for hours before you consume it. 

Here is a list of some of the food items on their menu:

  • Fish Tacos
  • Grilled Seafood Tacos
  • Seafood Burritos
  • Chicken or Steak Tacos
  • Salads and Bowls
  • Veggies
  • Nachos 
  • Quesadillas
  • Enchiladas

You can customize just about any combination of the above. As you can see it is quite the mix of seafood and classic Mexican dishes. The meats are all grilled, hence the name, "Rubio's Coastal Grill".

The restaurant:

The restaurant was founded by a surfer back in 1983 and is now run by a former executive at Chipotle. The restaurant recently overtook Chipotle as the number one Mexican restaurant in a consumer reports survey. That is saying quite a lot considering Rubio's is predominantly on the west coast and has approximately 10% of the number of restaurants as Chipotle. Chipotle also has restaurants nationwide. 

The restaurant's themselves do a great job of making you feel like you are on the coast in a Mexican city. The atmosphere is great. Upon doing some research it appears many of the restaurants recently underwent an image makeover to more accurately reflect their menu and stated goal as a restaurant. I would say they succeeded. 

My review and what do I recommend?

I tried the classic chicken tacos as well as the original fish tacos. They actually have a special deal for fish tacos on Tuesdays. So, I will be back on Tuesdays! Both items were outstanding. They tasted even better than they looked which is saying a lot because they looked beautiful. 

The only downside, and it's kind of a big one, was the prices. For the amount of food you get the price is quite high. I ordered 2 classic chicken tacos and it cost me around $8. Which is a lot when you factor in the size of the taco. I could have easily eaten 6 of those little tacos which would have gotten quite pricey!

My advice, go on a Tuesday or another day when they have a special. Either way though, you should go if you ever get the chance. Since I don't get to go to the Mexican coast as often as I would like, it's the next best thing. This place has quickly become one of my favorite places to eat. The food is clean and healthy and it tastes amazing. 

Have you been? If so, what were your thoughts?

Live well my friends!

Sources:

https://www.rubios.com/

http://www.businessinsider.com/rubios-coastal-grill-photos-and-review-2015-7

Image Sources:

http://tntelectricsigns.tumblr.com/page/2

https://www.rubios.com/menu/original-fish-taco/original-fish-taco

http://www.businessinsider.com/rubios-coastal-grill-photos-and-review-2015-7

Follow: @jrcornel 

Sort:  

@jrcornel
You are the man today! Not 0ne but tw0 great blogs! This is a place I am VERY familiar with as there is one right down the street from where I stay. This is my moms favorite place ;)
Food is FRESH!
Yet, I never heard of this coastal grill version unless I never paid any attention to the bottom portion of the sign l0l I will have to check. So this is out in Florida huh!
EDIT:
0K I found out that I was not paying attention to the bottom half of the sign as it is Coastal Grill ;) Thx for helping me to see this ha!

Haha no, it used to say Rubio's Mexican Grill, they had a drastic change in the last 6 months or so. I am not sure if new ownership got involved or just a change in theme, but the Coastal Grill part is definitely new.

Thank you for the kind words and for the resteem by the way. Following you now :)

I knew I wasn't going crazy! I called moms up to ask her if it always stated 'Coastal Grill' and she told me yes but now that you mention 'Mexican Grill' , I definitely remember that this was first before 'Coastal Grill' ha!
Thx for the check and for the follow ;)
Food is looking good right about now! This would be a nice lunch for today ;)

Yep, you are not crazy ;)

That sounds fantastic! Good Mexican food is my favorite, and seafood is a close second. I miss living near the ocean in Florida, good seafood is in short supply in Upstate NY. Ithaca has a couple of places that are decent, but only when I visit family on Long Island do I get to enjoy it fresh off the boat lately.
I'm hungry now...this post was like a super enticing commercial LOL.

Yea I was thinking the same thing... those pictures look really good. I think I may not be able to wait till next Tuesday before I stop by again! Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84