An oasis in the desert...

in #life7 years ago

Today was family day at the park. There is a little bird sanctuary very close to where we live that we had yet to visit. We gave it a try for the first time ever this weekend. 

The following is a picture journey of our day at the sanctuary...

Veteran's Oasis park is kind of two parks combined into one. There is a section that is full of hiking trails and wildlife. There are signs saying beware of bobcats, coyotes, and snakes. On the other side is a fishing pond with grassy areas and picnic tables as well as cement paths for rollerblading or bike riding.

Basically, you have wild untamed nature on one side and a domesticated family area on the other. My significant other strongly urged for the more family friendly side, but eventually I talked them into exploring the more wilderness side first.  :)

This looks like a nice little spot to catch a nice bass... I will have to give it a try next time. :)

As you can see, the baby was worn out fast by all the excitement and the sun. 

It was good for the rest of us to get out and stretch our legs a bit. We don't get to get out and do many things all together as a family like this so it was a nice change up for us, and the baby loved it.

It was also really neat to see this nice little habitat set up for birds as well as other wildlife right in the middle of the city. Much of The Valley is a flat dry desert, so any wildlife in the area naturally flock to any ponds like this that are set up.

Unfortunately I wasn't allowed to bring my fishing pole on this trip...

As I was told this was strictly family time, so I don't have any great fishing pictures or stories for you guys this time. 

However, I am sure I will be able to sneak away some time in the coming days to get some fishing in. After all, the spring time in The Valley is really the best time of the year for just about any outdoor activity, especially fishing!

Hope you enjoyed the pictures and live well my friends!

*Images taken by me

Follow me: @jrcornel

Sort:  

beautiful. @jrcornel

you're welcome.. :)
@jrcornel

I like that map in the first photo: nothing, nothing, nothing, lake, nothing, nothing.

Haha yea, not the most detailed map is it?! :)

great work! :)

you are welcome

Congrats, @jrcornel! The material is very well delivered.

Hope i can going there some day. Nice post. Keep post. Im following you now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77