What Has Happened To Our Generation?..

in #life8 years ago


Does anyone else remember the joy of a good phone call. The type of phone call you wait all day for. The one that you don't want to end. The phone call you expect to be short, yet, when you look at the call time afterward and realize you were talking for almost 2 or 3 hours? I miss these calls. I miss the connection felt because you and the other person enjoyed each other's time so much, that you both invested a few hours of your life with one another. Then, you couldn't wait until the next call which would be 10 minutes of important items with about 2 hours of random, bullshit enjoyment and inside jokes.

I hate to think that these days are a thing of the past because it seems they happened on the reg just the other day. Now when I think about it though, it has been about 5 to 7 years now since these conversations were anything close to regular. Are we now incapable of these moments? Has our attention spans been technically institutionalized because of the rise in the typed word? I fear this is true but I hope that I am wrong. I miss the days of falling asleep on the phone with someone you care about. What hurts me the most though is the fact that there is a generation of growing youths now that will never know what it was like. They will never know the emotional feeling of actual verbal communication over the telephone with a friend or lover on the reg. Instead, all they know are texts and snaps.. There is nothing to tell by the end of they day because you have slowly talked about it the entire day. We can no longer enjoy our surroundings because of how fascinated we are with our phone screen.

I can remember calling old girlfriends and their parent's picking up the phone. The nervousness of asking to talk to her and thinking what they might say back to you. Kids today will never experience that. When is the last time you had a phone call over an hour? How many times does your mom, dad. sister or brother or anyone call you and you purposely do not answer it? That is something that we have lost. It is so different to be the youth of 2016 compared to the youth of say 2005. It is different for adults too.

I went to the bar after work last Friday and I noticed something that made me realize our generation has failed. I sat down and ordered my drink. The bartender brought it over, I paid for it and I started sipping it. It was a crown and coke by the way, delicious. I was waiting for my dad to arrive so I was just relaxing by myself. As I sat there and sipped my crown, I started to look around me. There were 10 other people sitting at the bar. I kid you not, every single person had their phone out. Even a couple sitting at the bar together, they both had their phone out. It is sad to think we can't even go to a bar now and have a nice, real conversation or connection with someone.

Things will only keep changing, who knows how our communication will be in another 10 years. Pick up the phone and call someone you love, let's make hearing each other's voice appreciated again! Thanks for reading. I am sending lots of love and positive energy your way!

#holiday
#news
#writing
#adventure

Sort:  

Oh, man, so true. I do remember talking in the night on my phone. What I do remember the most now is how the phone was so comfy, didn't heat up and was hugging my ear just right. I didn't notice at the time, that's how phones were back then but now, my ears BURN if i talk too long.

Also, a very cool point about reaching someone's sister, parents, etc or whoever was around to answer it. Force to talk with a new person you also built familiarity with them.

In Romania, there was this rule that after 10pm phone calls were almost free. I remember waiting for 10:00 and then TZZZRRR, calling my friends, or the girl...I was in high school. Thinking about those times, I do feel nostalgia.
Maybe because, I was so young and didn't know how good I had it...

Still, I would not say the generation is "lost", just "different" they connect more with strangers, with people far fara away, through likes and upvotes and retweets and whatever snapchat does. IT's fascinaint to see and I'm sure THEY will look back ten years from now and regret what the new generation had lost.

It's the way the world turns.

Great post.


Romanian Phone

Thank you very much for that excellent response. You really nailed it saying how the phone fit so comfortably in your ear and never got too hot. So true. I'm glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks!

so vintage this phone!

I know right

But think about all the time we are saving to use on fixing the world's problems! (he said with heavy sarcasm)

So true and painful, if you ask me. We don't know anymore how to be alone. We must be connected with something, someone, except ourselves...but that's life, you have to accept that things are changing...as Lao Ts was saying "the only constant in life is changing" so we have to embrace it and adapt to it.

Very true Foxxy.

I also miss a handwritten letter..... always far more personal

That is a great point as well. The day of written letters is definetely over.

but postcards, I still send!

I have been sending homemade postcards. Love the surprise lol. This is the last one I drew/sent. Is great how much they like it

It was true ! nice post you made my time useful thanks

And they wont stay off the damn lawn either...

Good article. Thank you.

Thanks Belkins!

Kids these days...

hahaha true

@jpiper20, for sure! Youth of 95 here....got to enjoy a good old phone call and the tail end of the pager era, yet was still young enough to be savvy when cell phones hit. But, yeah, nowadays it's next level. Text convos to the max.

Technology has increased the amount of communication, but at the same time reduced the QUALITY of that communication it seems.

Yeah, it has reduced the personal aspect of a conversation over the phone.

Agreed, @jpiper20 I'm following you now. Look forward to future posts.

Back at ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48