Is Steemit Failing?

in #life8 years ago (edited)


When I first started on steemit about 3 weeks ago, it was great. I was seeing tons of cool stories, adventures and ideas. As the days pass by and I keep blogging, my posts are starting to get less and less views. I am also starting to notice the news feed is full of the same thing over and over and over again. Steemit is supposed to be a site where positive thoughts are shared, stories and adventures are shared. Everything that gets upvoted now is mostly about..steemit..

I mean I get it, steemit needs to grow and the word needs to spread, but everybody is starting to limit their ideas to strictly being about steemit. If it's not about steemit it is somehow connected to steemit. If the community is fine with that, that's cool. But steemit will never go mainstream as long as the top posts keep being just about steemit this, steemit that. I got on here and instantly fell in love because I was seeing people's lives change. I was seeing adventures. I was seeing inspirational posts. The more I see posts mainly about steemit getting upvoted so much, the more I want to stop using the site. It's turned into a game of who can post the best post about steemit. No one is sharing their true thoughts and feelings anymore. That's just my opinion.

I am guilty of tying steemit into my posts as well, but I am still posting about and doing things that I love to do. I spent the weekend making a surf video based around steemit and really thought every would love it and that i would get some positive feedback..I got nothing. It's like unless you post about the technical shit about steemit, no one cares to read it. Most of the posts are people taking the same information we have already read and just rewording it. I am in no way bashing anyone, I just think the site is losing it's purpose very quickly.

#steem
#steemit
#bitcoin
#crypto

Sort:  

I don't think so. There is always something interesting to read on steemit irrespective of votes and money.
However something should happen in order to be able to find more easily posts that may be of interest to someone even if they are not popular for the majority and are somewhere lost among other posts.

But steeemit is just so young yet..So I think that it is just getting starting and not failing.

There's just too much being posted about steemit itself. Everyone is repeating what has already been said. I agree with you though.

I feel the same way... did not have the energy to write a post about it though :P Upvoted

It's losing it's purpose and starting to get boring like everything else.

Try joining MinnowsUnite, it might help you a bit.

No, it's simply evolving. Right now there's a lot of excitement about the platform and potential. Eventually we'll grow out of this phase, and we'll start seeing more breadth of content. Unlike reddit, where content posted in lesser traffic'd categories get bumped, here everything seems to be on a level playing field. Perhaps at some point in the future we'll see features implemented to help get more diverse content more visibility.

It's just turning into a competition on who can post the best blog about steemit. You don't see people on facebook constantly talking about facebook..

The first payout happened a month ago come tomorrow. The platform is still really young and it's evolving. I think posts may have slowed down because a lot of people were deterred by the bots and just spam flooding of copypasta in the stream. Even if there is a lot of the same thing over and over, it feels more real. Now we just need some more users to power up so they can actually help others get paid when they do submit something good.

Not sure on failing but it's not what it could and should be. It could fail easily if things don't change for the better soon.

Hasn't failed yet.

Nice @jpiper20
Shot you an Upvote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68