Why help people if they don't want to do the same in return?

in #life6 years ago

My mom trained me never to give spontaneous exhortation, nor attempt to help anybody except if they approach you for it. I generally suspected that possibly she was simply chilly. As I get more seasoned, I have begun to understand that she was correct. My mom is one of the kindest individuals throughout my life.

Society dependably accentuates on the need to encourage individuals. I do it as well.

They reveal to you that you should help individuals unequivocally and when they wouldn't dare hoping anymore. None of that is, obviously, off-base. Arbitrary demonstrations of consideration can change a man's life in numerous cases. Be that as it may, there is a flip side to each coin. What's more, it is fundamental not to cover the other portion of the effect of any such motion.

Start-up originators regularly request to get my input. I understand that it is so hard to run a start-up, I run one myself. In any case, I have quit offering my insight for nothing.

Previously, a considerable amount of times individuals would welcome me out for espresso just to "get my feedback." If you have a couple of million dollars in the bank from VCs, scrounging through my cerebrum for nothing isn't satisfactory, particularly in the event that you didn't significantly try paying for my tea.

They don't comprehend that I have a family to sustain, home loans to pay, due dates to meet. They don't understand that with a specific end goal to set aside a few minutes for espresso, I would need to make up for that lost time and remain up until 2 early in the day just to work.

On the off chance that they don't think my opportunity is justified regardless of any esteem, at that point I don't have time for them!

hands-699486_960_720.jpg

On the off chance that PEOPLE DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU, YOU SHOULDN'T HELP THEM. THEY DON'T DESERVE YOUR HELP.

Presently I just tell individuals my hourly rate and take out my Square. Indeed, it's cruel, however it makes my life simpler and I am more joyful for it. Individuals consider me more important. In the event that somebody can't bear the cost of my recommendation, I as a rule give them another approach to adjust for it.

Govern 1: NEVER OFFER ANYTHING FOR FREE.

Run 2: NEVER FORGET RULE 1.

Next time on the off chance that somebody requests that you talk at their gathering for nothing, don't concur before you consult for the best arrangement. On the off chance that they can't bear the cost of you, request a free stall, time to advance your business or possibly free tickets to the meeting. It will indicate whether they are not kidding about having you be available at their meeting.

Individuals will dependably endeavor to misuse you in the event that you enable them to. You don't have sufficient energy to help everybody, just help individuals who merit your assistance.

Keep in mind, THE FIRST PERSON YOU NEED TO HELP IS YOURSELF.

On the off chance that HELPING PEOPLE MAKES YOU UNHAPPY, DON'T DO IT. Straightforward.

Once in a while you must be egotistical and put yourself before any other person. Disregard what society is asking you to do.

Quit HELPING PEOPLE WHO DON'T APPRECIATE YOUR HELP

My greatest shortcoming is that I get a kick out of the chance to encourage individuals.

I encourage individuals, paying little heed to the way that they requested it or not. In any case, you never know when that kind of theory could hurt you.

A previous customer of mine wasn't doing admirably. My group spent a couple of days investigating every one of the information and patterns to make sense of what the issues were. That wasn't a piece of our retainer and I didn't charge them. We did it since we thought about the customer's prosperity. My group discovered some difficult issues with the customer's plan of action and methodology. We demonstrated the customer our discoveries, and they let go us on the spot.

volunteer-2055015_960_720.png

We accomplished something out of empathy for our customer. We told the customer what they would not like to hear. We lost a record since we attempted to help. Furthermore, at last, we influenced somebody to loathe us for giving our expert feeling.

THE EASIEST WAY TO TURN YOUR FRIEND INTO AN ENEMY IS OFFERING THEM ADVICE THEY DON'T WANT TO HEAR.

When I offer somebody my assistance, I really need to help. However, a considerable measure of the time, individuals are not prepared to acknowledge my assistance. It is typical. Everything sets aside opportunity to change and the vast majority don't need it.

You shouldn't offer counsel when individuals are not set up to engage it, or they would one be able to day return and point the finger at you when it doesn't work out for them.

I quit helping individuals who don't need my assistance. Less show, more opportunity for myself.

Quit HELPING PEOPLE IF YOU CAN'T PUT 100% INTO IT

This is the most basic one. Offering somebody help when you are not prepared to help is a major no-no. I have done this such huge numbers of times, and until the point that today despite everything I lament doing it.

A couple of years prior, my folks were out of the nation and requesting that I take care of their home. I don't know how to water the plants by any means. Some of them I poured excessively water and some I gave practically nothing. Multi month later when my folks returned, every one of the plants had kicked the bucket. On the off chance that I didn't offer to help, somebody who knows how to deal with plants would have done it, and my dad's valuable plants would be alive today. They never let me contact a plant again.

HELPING PEOPLE WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE THE SKILLS OR TIME WILL DO MORE HARM THAN GOOD.

Offering assistance when you can't complete a great job will accomplish more mischief than great. It resembles being visually impaired and showing another person how to paint. You influence individuals to miss the chances to discover better help. Your benevolence can hurt individuals as well, in a few occurrences. One of the simplest approaches to crush a relationship is by offering assistance that you can't convey.

Sort:  

Very great post dear

you read it in 1 minute? dont bother commenting on any of my posts now.

Sorry dear plz support me on my blog please dear

Ahhh steemit needs a favorites button! Love this I was taught the opposite frowning up and have suffered dearly for it. I’m still trying to train myself to do this and it drives my wife insane when I offer to help someone when in all reality I cannot. Really well written (unlike my comment).

I agree that first you must be in a position to help before you can actually help. ✅ I differ when it comes to taking payments or giving out a rate.

What I don't understand is why some people negotiate to the penny when helping out a poor person (like buying some fruits from a street-vendor) but have no problem giving out a $50 dollar tip to a rich restaurant owner (who doesn't really need the extra money) when dining at a fancy place. 😵

Hey@journeyoflife good post. I like this post because it actually gives me something to reply to as I both agree and disagree with some of what you have here. One of the first things you mention is how someone will invite you out for coffee only to try and pick your brain for some free info which ultimately you don't want to give out and how that unpaid time leaves you having to work later to catch up on what you missed while having that coffee. I see your point here and have to say, that is called networking and you shouldn't view it as a negative interaction just because you didn't make any money from it. A lot of times building a solid relationship is far more valuable than the money you'd make for an hour of your time. In addition, the fact that someone values your opinion enough to want to pick your brain or hear your thoughts has incredible value in itself and shouldn't be looked at as lost time or profit. Another thing you mentioned is that if someone doesn't care about you then they don't deserve your help. Pardon the expression but that's just bullshit. People don't have to care about you in order to gain your assistance. The bottom line here is that you don't help someone to get appreciation, accolades, or to get them to care about you. You help someone because you're a human being that can help and they're a human being that needs help. The mentality you rationalize this with is a growing problem throughout the world today. It's basically, if they don't care why should I? or if they can't help me why should I help them? Those two trains of thought contribute greatly to the decline of humanity plain and simple. You also mention something along the lines of not helping people unless they ask you for help. That too is ridiculous and here's why: Every human being carries with them a double edged sword called pride. For some, it is very beneficial as it propels them forward and motivates them to strive for their best life and value themselves greatly. For others, it contributes to their suffering by preventing them from asking for help when they're the ones who need it most. So waiting for someone to ask for help, in many cases, is no different than watching someone suffer and doing nothing about it. Another thing you mentioned is in regards to "offering insight for nothing" and how you disagree. On that, I completely agree with you. You took the time, energy, and probably money to develop a particular skill set and your damn right you should be well compensated for your time and insight. As a fellow entrepreneur let me offer you this advice. Find the balance between compensation and what you give away for free. Of course you should be paid for your skill but remember there are things that can often be more valuable than money. Primarily networking and making contacts as I mentioned before. You even touched on this when you mentioned speaking at a gathering and if they can't afford you they should offer something else of equal value (i.e. a free booth at the event, free tickets, etc.) I would also recommend in this situation things like a sit down with the ceo, customer contacts, products or services they offer, shares in their company, or things along those lines. One last thing I want to touch on from my life coaching point of view. You mention that, "once in a while you must be egotistical" and "disregard what society is asking you to do". In terms of the former statement, being egotistical is one of the worst things anyone can do. The ego is of no help whatsoever in any area of life for it contains too many trappings (pride, entitlement, greed, to name a few). Instead, be selfish, at least from time to time. Look at it like this. Whenever you're on a plane they tell you that in case of a drop in pressure oxygen masks will fall and to put yours on before helping anyone else, because if you can't breathe how can you help someone else to? Just find the way in everyday life and business to put your mask on first and then get to helping others. The latter part of the statement, disregard what society asks of you is absolutely ridiculous. From a social perspective it is a surefire way of ending up alone especially when you need to ask something of society which all of us at some point will inevitably have to do. From a business perspective, if you disregard what society asks of you your business is doomed to fail, plain and simple. The purpose of any business IS to answer societies questions and provide them that which they are asking for. It would do you, and everyone for that matter, well to remember that none of us are here for the financial experience, or the business experience, or even the personal experience. We exist for the human experience. I feel that you are coming from a very passionate place in terms of your business and personal life but you must never forget that words carry weight and your words here are coming off as negative and aggressive based on only your personal experiences. As someone who started their own business you are in an excellent position to give sound advice to younger upstarts and peers. Yet ego and emotion have clouded what could've been a very positive and enlightening post. All I'm saying is that when you post, never forget the weight your words carry because your readers won't. I do want you to know however, that I did thoroughly enjoy your post because it has sparked the potential for growth in both of us and I greatly look forward to your reply. I will be up voting this post and in addition, will be following you as I feel you have a great deal to offer everyone here including myself. Take care @journeyoflife and be well.

GG

Brother's excellent post, always brother's success

First of all i am a female and stop commenting the same thing on all my posts or i will spam you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76