The Perils And Opportunities Of Freedom: Letters to Dad

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Dear Dad,

It's 18 days since I left home to a strange land to further studies, and it feels like a year already.
U5drf7TbVYReVYVkUyJnbrC1eqaURdR_1680x8400.jpeg
with dad on my convocation day

I am seeing life now in a different dimension, waking up everyday to the reality of your words...

...as you leave for your studies just know that you're completely free and responsible for yourself. And know that freedom breeds responsibility, I'm sending you away with love. Be yourself, be the man!

I miss home, family and friends. I've been left to face life wholly as a man, to be independent.

Sometimes I feel alone over here and that nobody cares. As exciting as freedom is, it is also sad to be free at times. But I love it that I am as free as a little bird in the air, I've also realized that this freedom can also become a factor to success or failure depending on what one does with it. So the question is, what do you do with your freedom?

Right now, I'm at the crossroad of my life where every decision making is left to my own objectivity and mercy. Leaving home to go make exploits in a strange or wilderness is a journey I've always looked forward to.

Sometimes, I seem to be partially beclouded about the seemingly challenges associated with embarking on such journey. I do feel like a bird, Happy and excited. Others times, I feel like a baboon, sad and quiet.

I'm free to cook or stay hungry, I'm free to work or sleep, I'm free to make friends or roll alone, I'm free to go outside or lock myself indoors, I'm free to mess up or remain disciplined, I'm free to make investments or risks opportunities.

I'm free to take risks or risk not taking risks.

For not taking risk is a risk itself, so I learnt. I don't have anyone to cry to when I face disappointments or when I'm hungry and I don't feel like to cook. I've learnt how to cope with disappointments. I've learnt how to treat myself when I fall sick (this is not about self medication).

Sometimes, I'm broken and in need of home. I miss your two daughters, my sisters. I spoke with the younger one yesterday on phone, she told me they'll be starting their semester exams soon and that she'd be in her final year by next year. I told her how supportive of a big brother I want to be to her and how much I've missed her.

Okay dad, I'll have to stop here, it's 5:30am already, I have to hit the road and start jogging. Oh, I forgot to tell you about this last we spoke on phone. I had started a weekly exercise regimen, I go out all by myself to jog on every weekend, other times I join a few guys on the street or at Adamasingba National Stadium, Mokola. I shall tell you about Adamasingba stadium some other time. My regards to mum, your beloved wife.

From this moment, I feel like life has just begun!

Much Love
  • Josh
Sort:  

Congrulations my frends..

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Great post friend

Great words. Knowing that you remember the word spoken to you by your parents as a guide in life is so amazing. Your dad would be proud of you @joshuaetim

It will break my father's heart to know that I've forgotten his words. Thank you for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91