Meeting a Great White Was One of the Most Peaceful Experiences of My Life

in #life8 years ago

Most people react with a "NO WAY" when asked if they would get in the water with a Great White Shark. After my recent experience cage diving off the coast of Adelaide, Australia - I could not recommend this enough.

You see, we often work with strong assumptions in life based off of fear or perception of how things are, without having knowledge of the experience first hand. I was guilty of this as well, until climbing in the cage and being submerged in the ocean surrounded by bits of Tuna to attract these giants.

Before long, in the murky distance I could see the outline of a MASSIVE shark - measuring over 4 metres (13 feet) coming into view. The first thing I realised, was the quiet... nothing other than my (heavy) breathing broke the silence as this large Shark came into view.

There was zero doubt that this Great White knew it was the king of its territory. Its grace and elegance in the water was a mix of ability and confidence... just amazing to see in person. In taking in this experience I realised this was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen in real life. Remove the "Jaws" theme song from your mind and what you have left is one of natures most amazing creatures. Are they dangerous... sure, so are people, just act accordingly (keep your hands in the cage, etc) and you will be fine.

So, my recommendation based on this experience is to get to know something you may be unfamiliar with and step out of your comfort zone a bit. There are some beautiful sights to be seen out there... go get to know them. Just maybe, you know, stay in the cage.

Thanks for reading and I hope this entices you to follow along as I want to learn of your adventures as well!

Josh :)

Sort:  

Of course followed and upvoted, I love sharks!

Thank you so much @future24 - and looking forward to following you as well my friend! :)

like from a horror movie =)

Haha @qkla - trust me the sea sickness getting out there was worse than meeting the shark! ;)

What a fabulous experience, I am sure the Shark was pleased to meet you as well.

Thank you so much @sunscape - I wonder if it has said similar on a Steemit post? Ha! Cannot wait to get back out there :)

You have to go see for yourself @onlyvoluntary :)

Amazing experience! :)

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

Cheers @siams! ;) Good article on beer haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42