Lessons From A Syrian Refugee Camp

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have been taking on the hardest physical challenges around the world for the past 2 years to raise money and awareness for small charities. Never would I have imagined when I redesigned my life by quitting my job to do this that I would have the opportunity to support a crisis.

This challenge, the hardest single stage mountain bike race in the world (700k) in Alta, Norway is to support a small charity called Mange Bekker Små thats helping Syrian Refugees and Lebanese locals in this current Syrian crisis. Through a small miracle I met a funder that was willing to help me cover the costs to go on the ground in Lebanon to film mini documentaries telling what life was like there.

I will have other posts telling more about that story, and if you are interested in the videos just youtube Outspire... but what I wanted to share is a lesson in human resilience. You see, I thought I would have a challenge being in the camps hearing the hard stories and seeing the way people there are forced to life - which, of course I did. However, what I really came away with was not just telling a story about them, but having them teach me an incredible life lesson.

This little girl in the photo is Ritaj, and at the young age of 6 has seen far more than what any adult should be able to even imagine. Yet, when I met her, she was full of love and was so excited to see someone visiting their small house in an abandoned building. Though she has endured hardship and certainly needs aid, she was one of the loveliest people I've ever had the chance to meet. Language didn't matter as I don't speak Arabic, nor she English - but our interaction transcended the need for that.

From her I learned that we are the only ones that can determine if we are to feel down, that is not a power that belongs to someone else, or another circumstance. I completely appreciate that things happen in life that can be tough beyond words, but now when I am faced with adversity - I think to the spirit that this little girl has, and realise that within us is the power to be the good in the world that is so badly needed.

Thank you to Ritaj and so many people like her that I met in the Syrian Refugee Camps, you are angels on earth.

For more or to help me help them - please visit www.outspire.org. 100% of any funds I raise go directly to the charity.

Thank you for reading :)

Josh

Sort:  

Very good work man! Keep going. Followed

Thank you so much @bycz - I will certainly keep going... I have been so moved by these incredible people, and am proud to say I've found my purpose :)

Very good man! Keep us posted.

Well your post is very good to always look, if this goes on I can give a hundred until there.
Thank you for posting useful for us all, good luck bro, hopefully always in the protection of god

Thank you so much @darmaputra - I really appreciate your words!

You are welcome, friend
Please give me your vote in my photo and following my friends
I'm new in friend's steem
Please guide me

You my friend are an inspiration. Great to see you are using your abilities to help others in need. The people of Syria could use all of our help. THANK YOU

Incredibly kind of you! Thank you for your words and support @bek :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98