"Have A Good Life"

in #life8 years ago

Last October I was in a taxi to the airport, flying from Sydney to Buenos Aires. On the way there the taxi driver asked "so where are you off to and why"... great question.

I responded "well, I have just quit my office job and I am flying to Buenos Aires simply because I found a cheap flight and I want to go to Ushuaia, the southernmost city in the world before Antarctica." I really had no other reason than that..

The driver looked in the rearview mirror, raised his eyebrows and said "NOW we are talking!". He went on to explain that when he was in his 20's and 30's he would just pick up and travel to various places on a whim and they always turned out to be great experiences... and that now we plan too much and over think things. He is a bit older now, and has grown children that are living a life of sporadic adventure as well.

When we got to the airport he got out, shook my hand and said "well, chances are we will not be meeting again so - have a great life".

What a sentence. The clarity, finality and genuine nature gave me the biggest smile, and I intend to do exactly as he has suggested :)

I hope you are all in the process of having a great life as well!

Josh :)

Sort:  

first of all I hope we will have treated you well on your journey, I'm from Argentina I caracterizamo forever we provide good service to the traveler, excellent post and congratulations on those magic words thank you for sharing

Hola @jlufer - thank you very much and Argentina ALWAYS provides an amazing experience! The culture, food, nature... it's truly a favourite for me, and I will be back to take on a Tango challenge next year! Thanks again!! :)

Stumbled on this totally randomly, and so glad I did! Sounds like a grand experience.

Thanks so much @biophil! :)

Follow for follow?

Great story. I upvoted and followed.

very inspiring story.. Life is indeed great!

when you are saying goodbye to someone you'll probably never meet again it's awkward and wistful at the same time. A few times in my life that same phrase was spoken to me. I believe it's the code of the soul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65