7 Months of No Drinking To Prepare for an Arctic Bike Race for Charity. Tips On Staying Strong.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I wouldn't be surprised if you rolled your eyes at the subject line in the midst of New Years Resolution mania. In fact, thank you for making it into this second sentence.

Goodbye to this Josh for a while. Well, at least the beer in the hand.

Now for my case.

I am a Charity Adventurer, where I dedicate my time to learning about and training for some of the worlds hardest physical challenges, in order to raise awareness for small charities. My mission is to help a new small charity with each challenge raise funds and awareness for their cause - effectively helping them help as many people as I can. I've been at this for a year and a half now, having quit my big 4 consulting job to focus on it. It has changed my life in everyway and I couldn't be more thankful.

With everything worth doing, there will be sacrifice. I chose to trim out all forms of alcohol months ahead of each challenge, not just because of the physical and financial benefits (which are HUGE) but this serves as a constant reminder to myself of staying on track with my training. I live in Manly Beach, Australia - and social drinking is a way of life here. Each kind "sorry I can't join tonight" or "sure I would love to come, but I will just be on the soda waters" fortifies my own focus to stay out of the bar routine and hone in on my higher purpose.

I've heard a great quote that says "don't give up what you want most for what you want now"... and I lean on this often.

Here is said quote in all its google image glory

This will be by far my longest time off the beers in my life and for good reason. This next challenge is the worlds toughest mountain bike race held in the Arctic. 700km (435 miles) across rocky terrain and massive swarms of arctic mosquitoes. Yes, arctic mosquitoes.

More on the challenge and the amazing charity helping people in Lebanon with the Syrian Refugee crisis can be found at www.outspire.org.

What I have learned from these "focus breaks" from the social scene is that, sadly some friendships do get challenged. I realised last year during my first challenge that I really only hand out with some people when beer is involved. Not saying that's necessarily a bad thing, but certainly something to be aware of. I also realised that other relationships really strengthened. I have some incredible friends around me that are fully supportive, and it seems those are the ones I naturally gravitate to for social occasions.

My tips to stay strong on your new years goals are:

Have a purpose. Find something your passionate about and give yourself the permission to pursue it at all costs. A Facebook post about your intentions will get you nowhere alone.

Be prepared for sacrifice. I mean, real sacrifice. You're single and the community around you drinks socially like 2017 is our last year alive and you're choosing to learn to knit instead (or whatever) to keep you occupied in the evenings... things get real then. Be ready. Be strong.

Learn the benefits of why you're doing what you're doing - and hold fast to them. Write them down and tape them on your wall if you have to. I have to, and do just that.

Never forget, we're all free to create our own culture - we just have to be strong enough to back it and make it a reality.

Cheers.

Josh

Sort:  

Great post Josh !
I wish you succeed on your journey.

Thank you so much @Mallorca - really appreciate the kind words!! :)

Good luck and enjoy! I rode 2 months last year (April 2-June 1) to raise funds for re-entry programs (for former prisoners). Quite the adventure and even with a back injury, headwinds, and the use of cars to avoid floods and remote places, I had the time of my life!

Thank you for the insight @lindsayw379 - much appreciated and well done on your efforts! Amazing what we can achieve when we're doing things for others isn't it :) Happy New Year!

Thanks - same to you!

Good Luck, Bro!!!

What an amazing challenge! Keep us posted and good luck. So is it end of Julyish?

Thank you @kiwideb! The race starts Aug 1 and we're looking to finish it in 4 days. It's a single stage race so will certainly be a challenge - expect updates here and on outspire if interested! Thank you! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87