Life Skills (upvotes for all)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is an open conversation. Im trying to get the opinions of everyone on what are some life skills that you wish you would have been taught in school or known before entering the world of an adult. Maybe some skills that you see other people lacking.

Sort:  

The skills of negotiating, of freelancing desires. I was a freelance English Teacher in Vietnam for 5 years. But nobody in school encouraged me to be my own boss. I ended up working as my own boss but it seems they do not want people to think about that possibility.

That sounds like fun, my wife was looking into teaching english in foreign countries but the certification is over a thousand dollars. Negotiation in general is a great thing that needs to be taught, I never thought of that one.

I taught English for five years in Vietnam with no certification.

How did you get the job?

I would say I am astonished by the amount of adults I meet who don't know how to appropriately deal with their emotions due to not knowing how to self reflect and identify issues in which you need to emotionally mature. It's an important life skill truly be aware of yourself and reasons behind your everyday actions

Thats a good one, I have also been seeing this more and more with people not being able to act "mature" acting like a 2 year old in public when they can't get things their way.

yep exactly. And just how we see children who haven't learned to properly and healthily express themselves adults have the same childlike outbursts in public/private due to this continual lack.

This would also be very good for parenting skill too. Something to teach your children when raising them. :D

Congratulations @joshofalltrades! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65