You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Posting Because You Think Your Stuff Is Interesting?

in #life5 years ago

I'm enjoying curating the 80k+ photos I've taken over the last decade. To write about them, I often have to a lot of research to determine what I was looking at. That's a journey I probably would never have started if it wasn't for wanting to participate on this platform. Earning is nice, but quantity or quality of upvotes isn't really a priority. Frankly, the opportunity cost is pretty high, but I'm enjoying the journey.

I tried out that actifit thing for a little while, I never really got into it. It fell into the same category as Drug Wars battle results for me. I think part of the issue is that front ends on this blockchain are poor filters. Almost everybody here is crying out for diverse use of this blockchain. If that happens, every post cannot be a 1000-word APA formatted essay. More crap is going to pass through your feed as the blockchain use cases grow. We need better filtering?

Sort:  

This whole time, I thought I was following you, and just missing your posts. I miss a lot of posts. I hate when I miss posts... Following you now though.

We need to be able to mute certain tags. Then people need to analyze the data and if they see a lot of people muting, they need to check themselves before they wreck themselves.

I don't want to see ONLY essays. I want the freedom to build up a following who will respect my content, whether it be a long story, a rant like this, the art, the jokes... and maybe some days I just can't think of something to say, but I try anyway, it's a shit post, but they're cool with that, because it's my shit post. I shared a post the other day explaining how it's not always about the content. The personality is important. There's no personality in a fitness report card. They all look the same.

I don't want to see ONLY essays.

I wasn't trying to imply this was your position. That's just an extreme example I use.

We need to be able to mute certain tags.

I agree, this is what is missing from STEEM. There's a use case for actifit, but it should be isolated to their app. There's a use case for posting a link and 140 characters to describe it, Twitter style. There are probably a ton of use cases that would make the STEEM blockchain more valuable, but make your feed look like a STEEMing pile of poop without proper filtering.

Thanks for the follow!

Well, I'm not the content police, that's for sure. People can do whatever the hell they want. But when I'm voting... I don't vote for generic blah. I won't unfollow someone because they want to share a fitness report card, but I will spend my time looking elsewhere.

You can mute tags on steempeak :) (I love that feature XD)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44