Bright Side of The Loss of Privacy

in #life7 years ago

Although the obliteration of our basic privacy because of social media is awful to anyone who admires the true concept of freedom, there are some benefits to it. Check out this goat I saw...

IMG_20151127_100058591 copy.jpg

Look, I never could have imagined that myself and the rest of the world would be taking pictures of everything we do and would be updating our 'friends' with all the mundane details of daily life. 'I just woke up for work', 'Now I'm going to work. Man, I'm tired', 'Now I'm AT WORK. This is boring I can't wait to go home.' .....and on and on and on.

It seemed ludicrous to me then...and it seems ludicrous to me now. But still... like most other people... I fell into the trap of posting pictures of cats....

IMG_20151203_014044171 copy.jpg

So....what are the benefits of showcasing every single detail of our lives to our friends, acquaintances, colleagues, enemies, hackers, government officials & artificial intelligences....??

  1. It gives you an alibi just incase anything messed up ever happens to you. Ya know...cause the Police State likes to rough up law abiding people from time to time. So, if you've got a bazillion details about yourself & timestamps all over the internet (Facebook, twitter, reddit, snapchat, steemit etc)....you've got witnesses.

  2. It thins out the herd. If people can't manage to have a reasonable amount of etiquette online, how do you think they'll function in real life? Like....when you date them.....or hire them. By the way here's a picture of my bod....

IMG_20151101_225745703 copy.jpg

C) It helps people focus and laern how 2 spell pr0prly. No, that was a joke.

Wait.....are there any other benefits? Forget it. Here's a picture of a Hot Dog I ate.....

IMG_20151120_123017913 copy.jpg

This is a super hipster artsy photograph of a street sign in the Bronx.

IMG_20150417_163637060 copy.jpg

Where was I? Oh yes......The Bright Side of The Loss of Privacy.

I was....ooohhh about 22 when I'd learned about MySpace. It blew my mind. People could put pictures of themselves on a kind of chat room AND you could have a theme song on your profile page!?! Man....How awesome was that? Then came Facebook and the rest is...well........pictures of people doing Yoga, grandmas with their grandkids, pictures of peoples cars, food, politics, people arguing and photographs of the beach. Like so.....

IMG_20150910_173610516 copy.jpg

Don't take me the wrong way. I do love some aspects of social media....like the ability to find an audience, gain fans, discover unknown artists, keep in touch with distant friends & relatives, make money (yay steemit) etc.... but most of the time that I scroll through social media I just want to go......

2012-04-20_12-00-58_686 copy 2.jpg

...Don't you?

Thanks for reading. Have a great day!

Upvote, Follow & Resteem. All that good stuff. Thanks.

-Joe

Video Editing Services on Fiverr- https://www.fiverr.com/jmcconnell5#!
Website- http://www.josephmcconnell.com/
YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/user/NUMSFILMS

Sort:  

XD Love this one<3 ;p

Thanks for the post. Ha! I love the pic of the goat. I'm not gonna lie you had some pretty good points there, especially the alibi part. I never would've thought of that, cause you never know what can happen that you will need to prove otherwise lol. Loved this. Thanks for the laughs. Feel free to check out my posts too if you like.

Glad you got a few laughs. I'll check out your stuff as well. Thanks

LOL, great sense of humor!!! love it

Nice post.Thank you for sharing.Follow you.

This post has received a 7.50 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @josephmcconnell. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 4.85 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @zeartul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61