First Half Of Thanksgiving

in #life7 years ago

The only story here is of my day my friends.

I woke up early this morning eager to get my day started. Thanksgiving at one point was all about family to me but it has taken a turn to doing for others. I'm sure we all love to be in a cozy home with the aroma of your favorite holiday dishes making your stomach growl. Being around those you love should be like this every day.

By 830 this morning my friend and I rushed to a local church to pick up some boxes of food which we were supposed to deliver to various locations. We waited in the cold for a good 40 minutes before getting inside just to be told that there is no point in waiting anymore because they think there will be no more food to donate.

To be honest, I was a bit bummed. I have been dying to be a part of this drive but can never actually make it. The fact that we had no food boxes to donate meant there was a great turnout. People have chosen to take time out of their day to help others and feed those who aren't in the comfort of their own home within the love bubble of their own family. It makes me sad just writing about it.

Since we had no food box to deliver we decided to stop at Burger King and buy some Whoppers and fries and took a journey through our downtown area as well as some low income housing areas to see if we saw anyone who might be homeless or hurting for anything period to let them know that someone is still thinking of them. To our surprise not many were out. I'm glad that there were very few people sleeping on sidewalks, bus stops, or asking for money in front of the supermarkets.

To many of us, today happens to be that one day where everything is full of love. Want a piece of Turkey ? it's stuffed with love. Everything about today is set in the great atmosphere of love and unity, but to some it's full of loneliness and hunger. A part of me wishes times weren't so crazy so we can invite those who are less fortunate to be part of a family if even for 1 day.

I hope all of you who have stopped by to read spend it surrounded by love, great food, and happiness. If you have some traveling to do take an extra blanket to hand someone you might see sleeping in the cold. Take anything to let them know they are being thought of too.

I hope you all have a beautiful, peaceful day surrounded by love and pure joy. Happy Thanksgiving Friends :)

P.S. You're the greatest

Sort:  

Happy Thanksgiving thanks for sharing

really man deeds are nicely or badly..
but nicely deeds mans are favourite of all peole@joseph

Thanks @nnajmull... A great deed is one you expect nothing from. Not even a thank you. In my opinion. You have to do it from the heart right ? Hope your day is full of love my friend. Happy Thanksgiving.

lot of most welcome now for appreciate to me...at presant now you my best friend@joseph

Nice story so nice of you thanks for the post...

Yeah it's very nice I think you had really create one day special for someone, who don't know actually what the special day is.
even though if they get the food that will be the special day for them I think to you for serving them who needs your help.

Hey the person like you really make this earth a good place to live.
I really like that you had contributed to the Welfare of someone. To the Welfare of someone
I am also glad for that person to whom you helped.
Really their blessing will give you more success.

It is always amazing to have dinner together and share love. These nice days happen only once in the year and they are very special. Enjoy your time and Happy Thanksgiving :)
Thank you for sharing!

Oo, this brings tears to my heart what you guys have done. A lot of arguments have been made in whether we should care about the poor on Thanksgiving, whether they should matter and be in the picture, or whether it's just a day set aside for our family alone. The answer is simple. Poor people matter on Thanksgiving because poor people matter. They matter because we are knit together in an inextricably web of mutuality that should make it difficult for us to have a day of thankfulness for what we have that doesn’t include concern for those who have very little.
Let me be clear. My intention here is not to create a feel bad situation or start a cancel Thanksgiving dinner movement. Rather my goal is to encourage us to expand our view of the Thanksgiving holiday, so that it becomes an opportunity to both give praise to God for our blessings and to give service to those in need.

Just like @joseph has done, let's follow suit and update our mindset on Thanksgiving, so that next Thanksgiving we would be part of the change.
All the best.

I upvoted your comment., follow me

Why cant people learn on steemit. Am i the only one who sees this as inapproprite.
"And based on my observations, the most successful people on here have huge followership and that is because they engage those who seek interaction."
I saw some accounts who have over 1000 followers and this happened only in one or two months but still their posts make only pennies, so I will disagree with this point. We should focus more on the quality of our content. Having thousand of followers doesn't mean that they all are interested in what you write. A few followers who really want to read your posts are better than the thousand of scraps who followed you on "F4F" rule. We are here to build a community.

Very well said... I love it !! @georgechukks

Great post @joseph. Why cant people learn on steemit. Am i the only one who sees this as inapproprite.
And based on my observations, the most successful people on here have huge followership and that is because they engage those who seek interaction."
I saw some accounts who have over 1000 followers and this happened only in one or two months but still their posts make only pennies, so I will disagree with this point. We should focus more on the quality of our content. Having thousand of followers doesn't mean that they all are interested in what you write. A few followers who really want to read your posts are better than the thousand of scraps who followed you on "F4F" rule. We weare here to build a community. We shouldnt defeat the original aim why steemit was created.

Strong post. Upvoted!

This is awesome. You guys really had a lovely time. You had made up your minds to give that's why you did not go back home when you were no longer needed at the church.
Happy Thanksgiving

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28