Protecting Pasadena Marijuana Dispensaries & The Recall Senator Newman Campaign Pt. 1

in #life7 years ago

Making a Move...

I decided the 2nd week of June to travel to Southern California to work a Marijuana Campaign in Pasadena. Work was drying up in Northern California Region for campaign work. This being an off year election season, jobs are few and far between. Southern California on the other hand was heating up for several local issues.

I received a tip from a colleague that Marijuana Dispensaries were in jeopardy from being completely evicted from the City of Pasadena. The campaign had 3 days left and they were in need of signature gatherers. I packed up "Black Betty" (my beautiful 2015 Toyota Prius) and drove straight to Los Angeles.

Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail

My plan was to stay for the 3 days and head back, but as soon as I arrived in town I got word that another local campaign was in full swing in Orange County. The venerable Sen. Josh Newman (D) was being recalled! They wanted me on the campaign as soon as possible. The job at hand had to be completed so I got an AirBnb locally and took to the streets the very next day.
IMG_2975.JPG
I was so elated I had packed summer threads as the weather in Southern California hit triple digits. Going to work in T-shirts, shorts, and sandals is something I never take for granted.IMG_5017.JPG I kicked off the campaign by hitting the Pasadena Police Car Show and Chalk Art Walk and getting mean mugs from the beautiful people of Pasadena....IMG_5018.JPG I mean how dare I take to the streets with a Marijuana Petition at a family event! It turned out that most of the people attending this event were not local residents. From there, I took to the streets and local grocery stores to "inform the voters" what was at stake.

Protecting Patients

Most patrons who shop at marijuana dispensaries are those with serious illnesses such as HIV/AIDS, Cancer, Arthritis, and Glaucoma. These are the people I cherish. These are the people I fight for. These were the people I had the joy and pleasure of meeting and obtaining their support of the campaign. The City of Pasadena passed an local ordinance recently effectively SUSPENDING Public Utilities to their businesses! Imagine having a legitimate business and the city says "We're shutting down your electricity and water effective immediately!" Why should these folks have to drive an hour, in L.A. traffic to obtain their medicine? Shame on the City Council, and shame on those that would deprive them of their right to use whatever substance to alleviate their symptoms and their pain.

After zig-zagging across town for 24 hours and blitzing every single person I encountered, I finally settled on working a grocery store with plenty of traffic. Needless to say it was the right choice. After working in triple degree weather over Father's Day weekend, we finally submitted enough signatures the following Monday. After 3 long days of grueling work, I got right on the next campaign in Senate District 29 --- Recall Sen. Josh Newman.... Part 2 later this week!IMG_5028.JPG

Thanks for Reading...IMG_5023.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09