My Humble Hügelkultur Bed || 5th Season Of Grounded Gardening

in #life7 years ago

IMG_4855.jpg

I've listened & learned from the earth:

I'm no expert from just the 5 years that I've been gardening; in fact, every year I'm gaining more knowledge from being aware of what the garden is demonstrating.

IMG_4854.jpg

Creating a hügel mound:

Hugelmound-5-2014.jpg

Above is the humble beginning of my first hügelkultur bed. I first learned from a friend about how he and his wife created hügel mounds and that they have gardened in for years without toiling the soil or having to rotate crops. I was instantly interested since I had just bought a house and wanted to start gardening. They shared with me the history and how it was sustainable living. If you'd like to learn more about hügelkultur I would recommend an excellent article that @gardenofeden wrote. While you're there make sure to follow this amazing self-sustaining family community they have cultivated.

IMG_4856.jpg

After the first 2 seasons that I gardened...I noticed that in August the yields were considerably worse and the plants were starting to die. I deduced that I may have a mineral issue.....because they were getting the water they needed and I had even used companion planting so that the plants next to each other weren't in competition. My plan the next year was to condition the top soil with glacial mineral rock dust so that the plants would get plenty of minerals. Sure enough, the next year everything was more colorful, bigger, and even tastier.

IMG_4858.jpg

Peach tree progress:

When I first moved into my house the prior owner had left a half-dead peach tree on the deck. I decided that it would be my pleasure to plant this tree and to make sure that it didn't die. I conditioned to soil and choose a spot next to where I would put my garden. I also gave it needed attention for the first year and I wish I would have taken a picture of how pitiful it looked that year. I took a picture of the progress the second year and you can see it looked healthy in the below picture.

peachtree-5-2014.jpg

I'm am very pleased to show you the progress it has made now in it's 5th season....look at all those peaches!

peachtree-6-24-2017.jpgIMG_4759.JPG

Other things that I've learned along the way:

Along my fence line there are morning glory vines that love to grow every year. The first year I thought they were pretty and let them thrive...to learn that this may have been another reason for the premature wilting of my plants. I learned that these vines can put toxins into the soil that will choke the life out of surrounding plants to further the aggressive and invasive nature of the morning glory vines. I now use a tool to completely pull these up keeping their roots intact to keep from the future spreading.

I've learned a lot more on how to protect certain plants from birds and bunnies by utilizing wildlife netting and creating a structure to surround these plants with the proper room to continue growth.

** Please enjoy these random garden photos and thank you for your time... **

IMG_4860.jpg[cantelope]

IMG_4811.JPG[lavender]

IMG_4850.jpgIMG_4851.jpg[rose of sharon]

IMG_4845.jpg[blueberry]

IMG_4857.jpg[lettuce & carrots]

Sort:  

Awesome. I love the Hügelkultur! When I built my raised beds for my vegetables, I buried logs, tree branches, and lots of brush. It has and is working wonders.

Keep on Growing!

That is exactly how I went about this raised bed. Dug a ditch and then filled it the same way.

Great post! Hugelkultur is awesome - I've read about it and watched a few videos and got interested.... so I tried an experimental one and now we have Swiss Chard growing that never needs to be water and keeps regenerating year after year - even when I go for weeks without watering it - its still stays green and keeps growing. I will be moving to a larger yard soon and am looking forward to larger scale projects like more Hugelkultur beds .. larger compost piles.. and my peaches will finally get to go in the ground ! I like your posts - I'm following...

Thank you....That experiment seems to have been successful. I'd love to see a post about you expanding into larger scale projects.

You are very welcome - I love this subject and I'm glad to see other Steemians are too. I plan to document it - my wife and I are actually going to buy the house my investment team is flipping- so we should be moving in about a month - it has just under a half acre of land and we are excited about the prospect of being able to have to room to do many of the outdoor gardening projects that we want to do.

That sounds righteous!

I love seeing terms like hugelkultur on steemit :] permaculture on my friend.

Working with the land as opposed to working against it has been a beneficial method in the past and it will be our future as well! Permaculture on....

Thanks @klorb .... I love it.

Congratulations @jonnyrevolution! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

First pic in post is look like Football 🥅 Goal hidden in 🌱 plants.

Awesome photography and article

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50