Without Hope, You Cannot Start The Day

in #life6 years ago

Without Hope, You Cannot Start The Day

slums-2585307_1280.jpg

I want to talk about food. If ever there is a topic that’s universal, it’s food.

But that doesn’t mean the topic is approached by everyone in the same manner. Here in my house, it’s discussed every day: What do you want to eat for dinner tonight? I imagine many of you have similar discussions throughout the week. BTW, my answer is the typical male answer: I dunno. What do you want?

But for many folks around the world, that is not the question of the day. The question can be phrased somewhat like this: What will I be able to find to eat today? and Will there be enough for the whole family?

That’s a whole different life. I remember being young in a house that did not even have running water. We were so poor that sometimes there was absolutely zero food in the house. Seven children. Absent (in every way) father. Mother working as hard as humanly possible.

And my childhood was nowhere near as bad as these folks have it today. I had family down the road who helped every single time my mother needed it. She never had to ask, somehow they just knew. So I never went without for more than a day or so.

There are people who haven’t eaten in days. Who have no idea where that help is going to come from, because everybody they know is in the same shape they are. Their communities are destitute and some of them destroyed, almost erased by natural disasters or other reasons.

How can they have any hope that things will get better? Without hope, you cannot start the day goes an old song. And I believe that. So how do we help the hopeless have hope?

There is a group here on steemit that is committed to doing just that. By donating to @YouAreHOPE, and by upvoting their posts, you are joining with a community who actually has people working in these locations. Proceeds collected are used to provide tangible help directly to the people who really need it.

Everyone involved with @YouAreHOPE is a fellow steemitizen. All activities are are transparent on the steem blockchain. You can know without doubt exactly how your donations are used. This is no corporate entity--this is real people helping real people transparently on the world’s first blockchain-based global charity.

I’m asking that you donate even a small bit of SBD or STEEM to these folks. And upvote their posts, if you find them worthy. You can also help by delegating some of your SP to them, which will increase their rewards payout. (You won’t lose your SP, but your rewards and votes will diminish slightly while the delegation is in place. You may cancel it anytime.)

I’ve done all these things, so I’m not asking for something I’m not willing to do myself. I’m just a minnow. My help is small. But all the minnows acting together are very powerful. Together we can make a difference out there, in the real world. Join us, won’t you?


You’ll notice below, I am declining payout on this post. I will do so throughout the month of December and will instead ask you to click on @YouAreHOPE and go there. Read their posts. If you agree with them, then spend your upvotes there. And please, consider donating some of your SBD or STEEM to them, and delegating some of your SP. It all goes toward helping folks who need it desperately. Thank you!

Sort:  

You. You Jon. YOU are HOPE.

I am filled with gratitude and humbled to the core by this post. What you have illustrated here and what you've chosen to selflessly do, is every kind of amazing possible.

Thank you, on behalf of the people we serve, and our teams and myself.

YouAreHOPE!
Help, Opportunity, Purpose & Empowerment.

Yours in service,
@SirCork
Founder @YouAreHOPE
Founder @SteemStarNetwork
Top 100 Steem Witness

Thank you, and thank you to the @YouAreHOPE volunteers who are there giving Hope in the form of food, clothes, clean water, seeds for crops in the future. All of this gives me hope, too.

The blessing of the gift is in the giving.

Give to live!

Wonderful post, Jon. Very well written! I am proud to call you "my mate". ox :) <3

I kinda like being your ox, sweetie!

hahaha <3

Great initiative!

I think @youarehope might be the best concept yet to affect real people. Totally transparent, all steemit volunteers, real people getting real help. Makes me feel good to help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67065.15
ETH 3680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65