Dr. Stephen covey's book legacy ''Our memories still fresh to remember you''

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today I’ve been reading about one of my favourite books. I had to read it for the second time and tried to meditate more on the words of that particular book. Two years back, I had bought that book and I was so anxious of really knowing the inside of that particular book. By then I was a first year student, inspiring for a number of opportunities. This would be either in leadership position or starting up a certain business which will bring me something worth at the end of the day. There came a friend who could just look by far my courage and determination of undertaking something great and then decided to introduce me about that wonderful book.
Stephen-Covey.jpg

Honestly, I’ve not been a passionate book reader by then, but could always watch motivation videos to encourage me as I move forward and achieve more of my goals. I could wake up each morning watching and listening to those motivation videos and then boost my energy for a new day. I had to learn how those powerful people in the word achieved their goals and the strong quotes which could always prove me that I’m wrong in my thoughts.

Moreover, I did start reading this book the seven habit of highly effective people The introduction part was so awesome and I felt like I needed to learn more from the inside. Above all, the book was considered as the best and had almost 15 million copies. So, I felt there was no reason of missing out on that book if 15 million people have been able to purchase it. My journey about that book was so awesome. I just felt amused when he explained the three steps: Dependence, interdependence and independence. These three levels made me think of my status and my journey toward reaching those levels.

He said Be proactive…..

proactive.jpg
source

This world added a lot to my mind and I had to cram and repeat it as to always remember it. There are many situations that happen and we choose to be constant or silent. Most people prefer to be silent yet having solutions to those particular problems. I had to think on various projects and activities that failed when I had the chance to turn it out by raising my voice. Sometimes, I could undermine myself, my ideas and stop challenging people’s ideas.

Put first thing first

bigrocksfirst3-tn.jpg
image source
I remember when I reached to this page having this title ‘’Put first thing first’’ I had first to sit down and see how I have been using my time. Managing my time has being my greatest challenge ever. With a number of responsibilities and activities planned for a day, I could always find that actually I’ve done nothing or just some very small achievement at the end of the day. What are your priorities? Steven Covey brought out an example of sands, small stones, water and then some big stones. So, he asked on how to arrange so as all of them may fit in the jag.

Begin with the end in mind

Girl-On-Road.jpg
source

There are a number of plans and projects that each human being intend to achieve. This question always come out ’’what’s the end of all this hustle?’’ will it be a success or just a wastage of time? Wil you earn from it or just loose. Sometimes, we intend to take things for granted and take on actions forgetting the final output. I have seen it with a number of young people, mostly students. When the students decide to risk their life in actions that are really harmful to their academics, health and even life. BY that, I mean drugs, strong and excessive alcohol and night moves.

Think of win/win

finance.png

There are a number of explanations and clear illustrations regarding to this chapter I could actually look at them and really feel guilty. This all turn to our social and emotional being. The goals we set and the way we intend to reach them. Do our goals harm other people? How do we intend to reach them?

Most of us learn to base our self-worth on comparisons and competition. We think about succeeding in terms of someone else failing--that is, if I win, you lose; or if you win, I lose. Life becomes a zero-sum game. There is only so much pie to go around, and if you get a big piece, there is less for me; it's not fair, and I'm going to make sure you don't get anymore. Win-win sees life as a cooperative arena, not a competitive one. Win-win is a frame of mind and heart that constantly seeks mutual benefit in all human interactions. Win-win means agreements or solutions are mutually beneficial and satisfying. We both get to eat the pie, and it tastes pretty darn good!

There are other more four habits :

Seek first to understand before being understood:

improve-communications.jpg
source

This always happen to a number of people. One may think that his/her ideas are always the best, without regarding other people’s opinions or ideas. Do we give other people a chance to hear more from us or we just dictate our will to other people so as they should follow. This relates in a family context or working environment. Fathers will always raise their hands and bring on new rules without the family consent. Some others choose to share their ambitions with the entire family, children inclusive. The outcome of the two families will always differ and a great solution based improvement will always be on the family that prioritize sharing.

Synergise:

Steven coveys says: ‘’Two heads are better than one. Sometimes, we intend to be sharp and able to bring out wonderful solution best alternatives either as individuals or in a group. The action of acknowledging that another person can add on something to another will always bring on a best solution alternatives. Some people even go far and start looking for mentors to have more advices and guidance on how to solve some particular problems.
2363694845_3cb9812102_b-12com9h.jpg

Sharpening the saw

78160110cceda701bebc8f224ecf97eb--healthy-kids-school-spirit.jpg

I won’t have much in explaining this sentence, but let’s look at what Steven Covey says about it

Allow yourself to grow by maintaining a balanced program in the four
areas of your life: physical, social/emotional, mental, and spiritual. Take time out from
production to build production capacity through personal renewal of the physical, mental,
social/emotional, and spiritual dimensions.

Finaly, Dr Stephen covey added a lot to our memories and helped millions of people changing their lives through his writing and speeches. In otherwords, he left a legacy, a very strong foundation for the young generation. I wish everyone can learn from his wisdom and try to make a change at his place of work or environment in which he/she is being part.
DQmTLjcscSW9kkg9qMiDuyt8QQpird1RjxpurnESS2BtYJr.gif

Sort:  

Ah that's one of my problems... beginning with the end in mind. It is a good advice but I can't seem to follow through sometimes. I want to get to the end but getting there is kinda hard. Lol.

Yeah....we all should strive and try make daily changes. I always try reading this book on a weekly basis and hope to remove some more dusts in which hinder me to really realise my potential.

You know Jona, this is still one book I haven't read. I might have to go try to find it at the library.

I have sponsored you for membership into @steembasicincome.

You should read it. Please. After reading this book. I enrolled for a program called "African youth leadership forum". This program used this book to develop leadership skills for the young African upcoming leaders and entrepreneur's.

I have sponsored you for membership into @steembasicincome.

Wauhh... Thank you so much. I really appreciate your support.

nice post tnx for shere

thanks follow and like it

That's pretty nice @jina12.
Reading is the best source of inspiration, haven't read the whole post though but I will.
Keep siting the best books to read.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67103.13
ETH 2617.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69