Social Media Generation(Good or Bad?)

in #life6 years ago

What's up Steem punks & Steem Princesses !


We live in a generation where social media and using the internet is the norm. Is this fucking up our brains?



Picture source

The social media breakdown.


I remember back in 1996 my father brought home our very first personal computer. It had windows 95 and AOL so we could connect to the internet. At the time the internet was very basic. Mostly controlled news articles and the most beginning of my life with social media through chat rooms. Since then the social media generation was born. We had Myspace...then Facebook came and dethroned it. Now we have a multitude of social media sites for all sorts of things. It is normal to have social media. Those without it are deemed weird or social outcasts. The dawn of the selfie brought on a new level of intensity for all social media, and here we are today.

I believe social media is tearing us down. Killing our minds. How? Let us break social media into 2 things.

Insecurity.


The way that social media is creating insecurity within social media is simple if you arent on social media. On most social media sites we have a world that we have created. Something that is catered for us. These social media sites are here only to aid us in our addictions and further push us into a hole we already climbed into.

I like video games and anime. So therefore on Facebook, I follow people/pages who like anime and video games.

I have certain political beliefs...so I follow the news sources and people who have similar beliefs.

These sort of things create an atmosphere that is comfortable. Something I can control. If I see someone post something I do not like. I can simply delete them or block them and POOF! Their posts are gone. This will eventually have repercussions on us as humans. This false perception of reality. This dream world we have created from our social media sites. It gives us nothing to working with when it comes to difference in humans. We are all different. We have imperfections. When we cater ourselves with content like this, we may never see the bad stuff that can condition us. We may never see people who disagree with our opinions and this leaves important room for growth in society.

Narcissism.


The selfie is easily one of the most narcissistic things I can think of on its own, but now we have it backed with getting likes. I read some science behind the brain getting a charge of dopamine(The chemical for happiness) when you get a lot of likes on social media. This can become an addiction easily. As crazy as it sounds it is true, social media is literally addicting and the repercussions of this cause insane narcissism. The concept behind being able to not only cater your world on these social media sites, but also the fact that it feeds narcissism doesnt seem so crazy when you break it down.

Picture source

Rinse and repeat.


Now that the use of social media is here for even the likes of a child, we have a new generation that is born. One that is born into social media. Many other generations to come with be born into social media if the trend continues. It makes one ask, does the mixture of insecurity and narcissism for many generations create a future of people that we want? We are speaking of our children and our children's children. I have social media. I am part of the problem. Though I have separated from it mostly, there seems to be no stopping this even with the realization of it. We are being eat alive by this and we don't even realize or care. I am not saying we should put a stop to this or some crazy radical shit like that.

All I am saying is that maybe we should realize this and take a look at ourselves.

Sort:  

yes it is messing things up....
when out I see people playing poker while texting instead of conversing with the people at the table... You think they win money often?images_009.jpg

I see couples walking where one is playing pokemon go and the other literally has to guide them by the hand so they don't get hit by a car crossing the street or walk into a tree...jeeeezzz.jpg

Its pathetic....
followmesteampower.jpg

hahah yes!!! It is slowly killing our minds as well.

at least we can laugh at them....Image63.jpg
agitated.jpgthe worst part is they don't even read the posts they comment on....

I wrote this one :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@richatvns/part2-why-steemit-is-going-to-fail-if-these-issues-are-not-addressed-quickly-and-what-we-can-do-to-prevent-it
The 1st 2 responders,jerrylewis.jpg
jeeeezzz100.jpgdidn't realize they were supporting my point!

take a look i think you will enjoy it! thumbsup1.jpg

Unfortunately whether we like it or not, this is how it will be. Corporates, media and the likes will take advantage of this because all they really care about is maximising profits.
So the onus is on us as parents to help the next generation have a balanced social life. Not easy, but can be done I feel.

not just corporations bad political actors interfering with free speech by using outright propaganda,
I have already identifies Trolls on the site settng up older blogs and curating them up over time.
bandagedup.jpg

I agree. Its a way for for corporate control and it works flawlessly. I believe there will be a future generation that boycotts it because it will be old news. I can see the kids saying " We dont use social media because our loser parents have it." hahah.

I agree. Its a way for for corporate control and it works flawlessly. I believe there will be a future generation that boycotts it because it will be old news. I can see the kids saying " We dont use social media because our loser parents have it." hahah.

Cool post, you will feature on my next, best posts.

I really appreciate the love

hai,. I am new in steemit, and I was vote and follow you, please follow back and vote my post
https://steemit.com/education/@danishguree/20180305t045406261z-post

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 30 SBD worth and should receive 82 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73