You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Brief History of Coincidence

in #life6 years ago

The famed psychologist Carl Jung explored what he referred to as synchronicity to explain these things we call coincidence. He actually defined synchronicity as "meaningful coincidences." His Eranos lecture on the subject in 1951 was quite groundbreaking.

Jung used his theory to support his own belief in the paranormal and what he termed the collective unconscious. He relates several stories of the occurrences of meaningful coincidences. Once, while providing psychological treatment to a female patient, Jung noted that the woman told him about a dream in which someone gave her a golden scarab. At that moment, he heard a noise at the window. Jung opened the window and caught an insect as it flew in. It was a scarabaeid beetle. He gave it to the woman and she became more responsive to her treatment.

Despite the fact that I hold a psychology degree, I'm no Jung. Still, I'm wondering how synchronicity applies in this case. Perhaps Professor Hawking has something to teach you yet. I stated on another post this morning that if anyone was especially suited to explore what happens after death, it is Stephen Hawking. I hope his new journey is sublime.

I very much enjoyed reading your post.

À plus.

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply and the information you provided. I have to admit - with a bit of shame - that I haven't read Jung. It's still on my bucket list along with Nietzsche. I'm quite sure I have a lot to learn from Hawking, wherever he si and I agree with you: he's most certainly the best to explore life - or whatever it is - after death.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50