You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dismissing Demotivating People from Your Life

in #life7 years ago

well, here's the thing - it's a current view to drop relationships including family ones that are stressful. For that matter, most marriages are over before they even get off the ground.

Family members are more open to give you 'free advice' because, well, they're family and have a comfortable certainty you won't just up and leave like others in their lives.

I think we have to be more forgiving with friends and family because God put them in our lives for a reason - if only to teach us to love even the unlovely. I know it's hard, but that's what it's all about. And, if I may add an observation, you and your wife are lovely people and I'm sure you've forgiven a lot. And you will be forgiven a lot because you've shown much love :)

Sort:  

if only to teach us to love even the unlovely. I know it's hard, but that's what it's all about.

I love your kind and measured words, John. It is a current viewpoint to drop relationships and that is one thing that makes me sad. We didn't want to go that route.

Stating the boundaries and loving those who can be unlovely has been a great source of growth for our character. God truly uses those kind of relationships to teach us how deep His love is for us. Thank you, brother.

Oh, I know you know that, but I've had a lot of experience in the school of hard knocks, and it's been mostly under my own roof :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46