You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update on my Friend Tom, and Bear

in #life4 years ago

Nice to see you back. Sad news about your friend. Concerning Bear, a dog can adjust to different circumstances. Before you give him away, let the whole issue settle a bit in your hurt heart. I don't know your family situation, but here comes a real companion, with trust and fidelity who will stay with you in bad and in good situations.

Sort:  

All you say is true. I had to leave Bear in a local kennel overnight when I drove to Gotham to see the cardiologist, as it would have been cruel to leave Bear trapped in my truck for 6 - 8 hours. I missed him poignantly that night. Dogs are the best people I have ever known, to be honest. I like him.

However, before all this excitement I didn't even want to undertake responsibility for a houseplant. I actually have a plastic one, that was my pretense to greenery in my home. Just a bit before these events, Turmeric I had planted in spring in pots outdoors sprouted after 4 months and I needed to move them inside or the cool weather would kill them, and I had to accept the responsibility of houseplants. Now Bear adds immeasurably to my responsibilities and loss of fancy freedom I was previously availed.

I literally had designed my living circumstances so that I could simply abandon all I owned without regret and radically change to adapt to what I saw as paradigm transcending global events oncoming. We see today I was perhaps underdelivering in my predictions, sadly.

The fact is I am not concerned for my loss of his companionship. I did not expect it, and had expected to endure the rest of my days without that wonderful boon. As dear as it is to me, my responsibility is to Bear. I cannot again run the woods and out-endure Elk as a hunter in good fettle can. I cannot spare the days and treasure to hunt birds as Bear's fulfillment of his destiny requires of his owner.

I would despise me were I to abuse Bear to reduce him to my emotional support while depriving him of fulfillment. I love and admire him far too much to even consider it. I have reduced my possessions to the minimal necessary as a weapon against those that prey on men profitably. Banks and criminal cartel institutions/government have by fraud and violent thuggery stolen hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of property from me in my life [not taxes and fees, but actual criminal fraud and violent armed assault, using my wealth as bait to corrupt those I trusted to betray me], and should such institutional predation be again attempted against me, the possessions and treasure I presently possess are such that gaining them will actually effect a financial burden, which utterly discourages such predation.

Bear deserves to hunt and be that critical part of his pack. I cannot meet his needs. I couldn't bear the revulsion I would feel for me if I selfishly kept his love at the cost of his own quality of life, even if he would never know.

Tom himself may not understand this about Bear. I still owe my friend my best judgment regarding Bear's care and quality of life.

I know.

For that companionship, I have a couple massive pots of Turmeric =p.

Thanks!

Thank you for that avalanche of insight, empathy and information concerning your personal circumstances. I understand your point not to keep Bear. I hope he will find the right house to live a proper dog life. My best wishes go to you and your friend at the hospital. Stay strong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65780.00
ETH 3522.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47