You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardening, northern Maine style.

in #life6 years ago

Is that your white house? Beautiful. I'm living with my mom near Seattle. We have gardens. We don't have as much land as you but we have strawberries, string beans, raspberries, potatoes, and maybe a few other things. I've been helping a lot with gardening. Looks similar to yours in some ways. Your pumpkins look great. I encourage people to try to garden as much as they can.

Sort:  

Thanks, Joey. Yeah, that's our 175-year-old house. Oldest in our little town. I still like it though, despite all the work it needs. It's got "character."

Strawberries and raspberries...YUM!! I got to think about getting some of those started. Have a great day!

Where is your house? I like old houses. So much history. Houses were made with more wood and with better wood as in instead of plaster wood or whatever they call it when they cut the wood up into like bark dust and then glue them into boards. Older houses are more like Abraham Lincoln Log Houses, cabins.

Our house is in Northern Maine (Aroostook County) in the tiny town of Amity, pop. 223.

Thanks for reading and sharing your comments.

I have lived in old wood-framed houses my entire life, and this is the same age as the last one we were in for 8 years prior to moving here in 1996...about 175 years. The wife is tired of the old, though; and, we have purchased a newer house to retire to in a few years. and to use as our summer home until that time comes.

I'm from Oregon. I know an older couple from my church and they moved to Maine or something like that. Old houses are great. I lived in New York and I liked it.

Yeah...they're definitely quaint and pretty, but the downside is they are also cold and drafty, and there is always something needing fixing...which can be a really problem for a dude like me who isn't all that handy...except with a paint brush and hammer. I can paint, and I can swing a hammer. That's about the extent of my handyman skills.

Duct tape can help. They say duct tape can fix everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51