Car Buying Exposes All of My Fears of Inadequacy

in #life7 years ago

2015-Lexus-RX-350-SUV-Base-4dr-Front-wheel-Drive-Photo-1.png.jpg

Well it is that time again. I need to purchase a car for my wife. Over the years, I have purchased well over 15 cars and I have never felt good about any of my purchases. For me, the car buying experience is one of my most dreaded activities in life! I realize this is irrational and there are bigger problems that I should stress about in my life. However, I would choose to have multiple root canals over buying a car.

I lead a relatively stress free life. I am very decisive, deliberate, disciplined, and I normally don't sweat the small stuff. For the most part, this holds true until a begin the car buying process. All of this is thrown out the window!

With car buying, I stress over the littlest of things. Do I really need to buy a car? Am I selecting the right car? How will I pay for it? Where should I go to finance it? etc. These are all questions that bounce around in my head and that's even before I actually walk on to the dealership.

Once I get those questions answered in my head, I then begin to prepare "my strategy" for the dealer. In my head, I plan a strategy where I will stay calm, firm, and confident when speaking to the sales person. And most importantly, I won't let my emotions get in the way of the strategy. My goal is to walk in to the dealership knowing exactly what I want, what I want to pay, and how I am going to pay. While this strategy works in my head, it quickly disseminates as I set foot on the car lot.

I am mesmerized by the vast variety of cars and colors. I quickly begin requestioning all of the decisions that I made earlier. Am I buying the right car, can I pay a little more if I have to, am I really willing to leave this lot without purchasing a car?

Almost every time I purchase a car, I have some sort of remorse and I feel that I have let myself down.

I realize that there are much bigger problems and stresses in life, but for some reason the car buying experience is the one that gets me every time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76