Does Poverty Equal Greed? No - In Cambodia I've Had More Money Returned To Me Than Anywhere Else!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is a short but important post. Cambodia seems to have the most honest people I have ever met. There have been studies around the west (I've seen some) which look at which people will return a wallet or dropped money.

Mostly interesting and it seems that people are generally honest in the west. But what about a country whose monthly salary is less than USD $150?

Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 5.48.57 PM.png

The Dichotomy Of Poverty

Cambodia is rich in many things. It's natural produce is fantastic and the people are some of the best I have met in a lifetime of traveling the globe.

However in a country that has such a minimal salary how does that effect how people deal with honest paying and returning dropped money on the floor?

Frankly amazing!

Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 5.47.59 PM.png

Dropped Money!

In the last few months I have dropped money out of my pocked 4 times. Each time the money was spotted and returned directly to me. One youth even stood in the rain to return a USD $ 20 note! This is serious money in Cambodia and could purchase several meals for local families.

Four times money was returned to me in a country where the people can be classed as poor. This says a lot to me!

They say there is dichotomy between money and happiness. Cambodia proves to me time a and again that it is not just the money that matters.

Choice-Cambodia-Child-I-Two-Scots-Abroad_.jpg

Proper Change

I just want to conclude that my Khmer language is terrible although I am improving. Many times when have purchased something:

  • sugar cane juice
  • a coconut
  • streemed rice treats

The change has been give to me in immaculate detail. I often try to tip but it won't be accepted.

The Cambodians are truly amazing! 😉

Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 5.48.10 PM.png

Image sources: 1, 2, 3, 4.


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! 😉
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank
& loves @canadian-coconut, @chron, @dierdryweidry, @dtube, @drakos, @frot, @mammasitta, @maneki-neko, @mbalance, @rebeccabe @samstonehill, @sift666, @slowwalker, @v4vapid


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort:  

They sound like a wonderful people. Thanks for sharing this.

It is my great pleasure to get a compliment from you. I couldn't do Steemit if it wasn't for your diligent support! I mean that most seriously. Thank you for all your diligence and hard work - without I wouldn't be able to stay on Steemit!

You are amazing!

Here is a high hoof for you:

bc6493_df9f50d9240841859012d62a6bbfd9e0_mv2.jpg

Hi @jockey, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @dierdyweiy doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80