You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Time of Private Clients: 3 Tips for Growing Your Small Business

in #life6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this. As always I enjoy reading your words and here you give an insight to what you do for making the monies.

Sometimes we need to see others so we can see the possibility and attain it ourselves.

I especially resonated with your comments about showing up everyday writing with the hope of being self sustaining.

What is the scope of your mentorship? Are you guiding beginners to creative writing stories? Or are you Sheparding people into publishing the first time?

Sort:  

@jocelynlily, I actually do both. An example is I teach an arc of classes on memoir that open as we go to include fiction and poetry. My trauma writing classes touch all bases. Private coaching is designed around the needs of the writer at the level they feel comfortable with. I have worked with people who have never written before to create an essay, help people outline and maintain focus on books through discussion and feedback, give written responses to work and more. The only thing I don't do is technical edits. I am dyslexic and just as likely to put an error in as to take it out.

An example package I sell is 10 hours over the course of 5 weeks. Clients write to a goal each week and turn it in to me on a certain day. I take two hours to read, respond and go back and forth via email on goals. Included with that is a phone or in-person discussion of the client's work at the end of the session at which point we look to next steps. That may be referral to an editor, working with me on pitching, or a re-up of the hours-based package to reach a new goal.

Does this answer your question?

Absolutely! I love it. Comprehensive and detailed. I appreciate the time you took to answer. I'm sure you have many happy clients that respond well to the effort and time you put into their efforts.

Have you considered putting a book out about your process? I am interested in learning what you do what you do.

Maybe when you have extra time (haha!) it might be an avenue to take. Or if you have something already, published you could direct me there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45