My friend - Under the Tuscan Sun

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever watched the movie Under the Tuscan Sun? I just watched it, for what might be the 100th time. I think of this as my “break-up” movie. Though the first time I saw it, I was blissfully unaware that I was about to break up with my husband. Seriously I think I got hit with that news not a week after going to the movies to see this film. When I saw it at the theater, I thought it was a cute movie but that was about it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.17.54 PM.png

But the next time I saw it I was in the throws of an unwanted break-up. I watched Diane Lane travel the same road I had, except that my husband did not cheat on me OR that I could not just up and move to Tuscany to start over. But the pain and hopelessness, THAT is universal. I really could relate to the part in the movie where she says that the ending of a relationship should kill you, because "You should not have to wake up day after day, after something like that, trying to understand…”.
The person who wrote this movie clearly when through a divorce, because it was just so raw and so relatable.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 10.14.19 PM.png

I would watch it over and over and cry, and feel sorry for her and for myself. And the movie helped me feel less alone, it helped me to see that she was suffering like I was. Of course she got her happy ending in under two hours and it took me a bit longer. But even now I still love that movie, because It was with me when I needed it most.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.03.32 PM.png

​ When I go back to watch it these days I enjoy it for what it is, and old friend. I can still feel her pain as she goes through her journey, but I also feel hope and have the understanding that we needed to go through all of that to be where we are now. And yes it sucked, and yes it hurt like hell….but it was worth it....to get my own happy ending.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.29.51 PM.png

Sort:  

its a great movie and the cast is superv. Movie like this really help us to cheer up, it has energy, might be positive or negative. its a good feel movie. nostalgia once again. thanks @jocelin-falcon

I am happy that you pulled through to get "your own happy ending"albeit after more than 2 hours. :) I have not watched the film, but I love movies -all types of movies - hence it will be on my list.

It really is a must see, even for the scenery alone. Do Ccome back and tell me what you think of it.

Sure I will do that

Love this movie !!! Thanks for reminding me to watch again..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43