My Husband Excited Over his First MACHETE. BeachWednesday.

in #life7 years ago

1914596_385217386960_1140377_n.jpg


My husband playing around with his first, new Machete while we were living on the beach of El Salvador.



So where does the word "MACHETE" come from? It comes from word Macho, which in the Spanish language was used to refer to sledgehammers.

Machetes are not very popular or well known in Europe, or North America, but in tropical and subtropical countries, the machetes are used as a tool, for agricultural purposes like cutting sugar cane, or they are mostly used to cut throught rain forest undergrowth or just a tool used as a garden tool, for example cutting down the banana leaves or coconut leaves, clearing bushes and trimming the grass.

In Latin America, the common use of machete is a household tool for tasks like cutting large foods into pieces or splitting open coconuts etc.


DQmfKTJX1wiRKA7uehsGknqcFEsbcvfJg9kXtJ9GLkBaS6K_1680x8400.jpg

My husband cutting one of the coconuts with the machete. I am proud to say, that I also learned to cut my own coconuts since a lot of women also use the machete as a tool, so I had to learn it too, but still need more practice.


In Central America countries, machetes are used as an everyday tool in agriculture, such as chopping, clearing, cutting and felling. The machete has a long history of use and it is still seen as a part of the everyday dress code of the rural male inhabitants. In the older days the machete and the skill of it were used as token of manliness and it was also carried as a sword-like, which was carried in the ornamented sheaths made out of leather. The machetes also played a role as a ready-to-hand weapon for self-defense, but modern laws now prohibit its use as a weapon.
As a part of the male dress, it is normal to see a man carrying machetes with them on a daily basis, but it also plays a part in the cultural expressions like dances, or skill exhibitions and horse taming contests.


In Mexico and Central America macheteros are contracted in clearing paths for the construction of new roads or structures.

1914596_385217401960_2865596_n.jpg


My husband playing with his machete in our beach house, like if it's his favorite toy. You can't really see the machete because it is behind him, so you can't really see it, just the tip of the leather cover where the machete is hiding.


Pictures were taken with Sony Cyber-shot W350.

Thank you for visiting my post. If you like it, please don't forget to Upvote, Follow, and Resteem, it is very, very appreciated. Any suggestions are always very welcome so that I can keep improving in this community.
God Bless You!


DQmduqqaBDC8BYQQLUETr4F8VSBi6WfypSNoW6YY2vDCo4f.jpg

Sort:  

Living in the Philippines we use the macho hammer for everything. Also most everyone is carrying a machete, who knows if they are friend or foe!
I took this photo in my yard today of our coconut processing locally called Copras. 4690FE13-FADC-41D5-A2B2-AEC467D5F1BA.jpeg
God bless! Thanks for the post!

Wow. That is so cool and it looks so neat. It's amazing.
Thanks for sharing @mhm-philippines

I missed my place, where we staying beside the beach.

I miss the beach too, since we are back in Canada right now.

hi there my dear @joalvarez

tou know here in PH , Machete is a man made of wood ,we actually had tv show for that, a man made of wood turned into reality, and he is a handsome , has a very good body guy hehe

So your husband is like a machete using machete LOL

Thanks for sharing this dear @joalvarez 😘❤️❤️❤️

That is so neat and I love that you shared that with us, it's good to know and I like that
Machete using machete.

Awww. That was cute :D

Thank you @bloghoud for your nice visit which always makes me happy.

We also doing thos stuffs, the buko. It's nice to drink.

Yes, it's delicious and so good for your health.

I always like to go to the beach.

Me to. I love the beach.

**Love the photos! **check out my articles too :)
and upvote please, i up voted yours.

In South Asia, we use it in our daily life to cut things. Great enjoyment on the beach.

I bet is pretty much the same as in the Latin countries and I guess everyone has a machete in their house for the daily tasks.
I still have to get used to it, since I'm a bit scared of it and my aim is not that good when I try to cut the coconut in half.
Thanks for sharing how you use this tool in South Asia.

I like to read every post you .. I also learn a lot of steemit from every post you. Whether it's writing or photos.
Thank you companion steemians..
My curiosity you want to visit my blog awaiting for me..

That looks so fun to play with, I would most certainly lose a finger though...

Yes. I even like to play with it or experience with it, but I'm a bit scared like you said I don't want to lose my fingers or even worse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84