You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Off Grid Living Diary #2 - The Solitude

in #life7 years ago

I am afraid that I get told off for reading fiction instead of expanding my mind - that particular book is a Ken Follet one. I really do like historical fiction but also any history books talking about the 19th century and going backwards. What about you?

And you are correct in that I am finding the fact that I have more time the most valuable benefit in living out in the sticks.

Sort:  

I mostly read fantasy and sci-fi these days. My logic is that if I can read a novel, or a drama, or whatever, why not also add interesting setting on top of it? I actually just published a post on some sci-fi books, heh.

The other thing I read are classics. I mean, I've read The Three Musketeers, Les Miserables, The Count of Monte Christo and others in elementary school. I also like stuff in the David Eggers or James Frey style... I just like reading, ok? :P

Also, pish-posh, the act of reading by itself makes you smarter and works your mind out. What you read is much less important than actually reading. I also get enough serious reading as a philosophy grad student, y'know?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35