being a speech pathologist: what does that mean?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So, I was one of those kids that was extremely lucky to know what I wanted to do with my life from very early on. I had one very lame goal I wanted to achieve:

  • to make a difference and positive impact in someone's life.
    I know it's impossible to change the world but thought, hey, it's worth starting some where.

Fast forward through my schooling years and 4 years at university, ah viola I got that $30,000 piece of paper telling me that I was qualified to help people talk.

IMG_0076.JPG

Hmmmm so what does that even mean?
When people ask what I do they often respond "OH YEAH SO YOU DEAL WITH STUTTERS AND LISPS, RIGHT?"
Well no (you pleb), I do much more than that. I give someone a voice, help build their basic understanding and ability to communicate, help someone fit into society and help them to show the world it's okay to be different.

For some utterly STUPID reason society has this perception that if you:
A) Look different
B) Talk differently
C) Dress differently
D) Behave differently
You are this complete alien to the world and you will never fit in. And let me be honest, YOU are the most basic and simple-minded pleb if this is your way of thinking.

Every single person on this planet has strengths and weakness. We all have different hobbies, we have different interests, we learn different ways.
Why should society say that well hey, since giving you this diagnosis it is going to automatically make you different? These people need to be ENabled rather than DISabled throughout their life.

Together slowly, we can break down these barriers society have created and help make the world a more kind and accepting place to live in.

I am a Paediatric Speech Pathologist who works with children who have disabilities. Doing this job can be very tough but on the other hand, everyday I am truly astounded by the progress these kids make on their journey throughout life.

  • J
Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, hope you will have a nice one over here.
Take care!

Welcome to this fabulous community! I post about cryptos, economy, silver,etc. Please checkout my posts to see if they interest you and my policy is if you follow me I will follow you. Welcome again and Steem on!

Hi and thankyou :) sounds good I'll be sure to have a look!

I love the concept of enabling instead of disabling. Very relevant. Upvoted. As a newbie myself, I intend to post about my journey as I begin developing documentaries on the empowerment of women around the world with the belief that men and women can stand strong together, but I'll also be posting fiction and topics of personal interest, like my family's connection to an infamous serial killer and a royal family. Lots of love, @aescholer

Hi there! Thankyou so much for your kind words- it is greatly appreciated. I will definitely be following your journey and am very interested to share in your views too! :)

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Please read the following address and press voting
https://steemit.com/kr/@jyoungking2/if-you-ve-started-something-set-your-goals
Good Luck
3.png

Welcome to Steemit @jkara!
bitmoji-20170618092611.png

Welcome. I have three friends who are speech pathologists. You do great work.

Hi there! Thankyou for your kind words- always so lovely to hear such appreciative people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57