THERE IS LIFE AFTER THIS HOUSE

in #life7 years ago

I guess I must need this project for Krishna consciousness. Figuring out how to deal with this house. It's a real Sherlock Holmes thing. Getting to the bottom of each situation. Nothing here was done very nicely. It is very complicated.

This morning the mason came. Great guy. Told me his whole life story.

Since the foundation people can't get under the house because the crawl space is 9" on the high end and down to 3" on the low end they suggested more vents and a fan.
OK that sounds easy right? Wrong.

The house does not sit on piers. There is a concrete block wall running down the middle of the house length wise.It's shaped like a rectangle. The floor joists rest on that. So it is cut in half.

That's OK. There are vents on both sides of the dividing wall.
Except for where there is old metal duct-work. That is where the musty smells are coming from. The duct work doesn't allow for air flow in that small area. There is a vent there but only one vent is not going to get air flowing.

SANY5075.JPG

My mason guy had a great idea. Cut into the concrete blocks where the duct work comes and cut away the duct work opening everything up.

SANY5074.JPG

See if that is enough, if not get a little fan.

I know there is life after this house.

Sort:  

good job done @jiva34

What is the finished job @jiva34

407320-18.JPG
Thank you for asking.
It is an older house in the country. It was very run down and I am fixing it up. The person built the house themselves and it is difficult to work on because he didn't do the work in the usual way. But it is fun and has an acre of land and a 6' high wooden privacy fence all around. I really like the fence. Well water, deep well, 250', a nice fireplace but it doesn't really get cold here so much. Just a few weeks in the winter... a few times below freezing. it is Florida, USA, so it is in the south. I am really enjoying doing this. I am a little bit older, 71, but if I should not be able to live here then at least it will be a nice house for someone else. :) It is a blessing and I am thankful for it.

@jiva34 can definitely live there, I will pray you @jiva34, surely with your hard work thanks @jiva34 , all will be meaningful na, congratulations for you good luck.

a very complicated job miss @jiva34, but there will definitely be a way out in consultation with the experts, this can be a very rewarding experience if we can solve this channel problem.

good jobs @jiva34

a very smart mason and can find a way to something. not in vain to call a smart mason like @jiva34 find

Keep up the good work

Pekerjaan yang baik semoga menyenangkan @jiva34

congratulations to the mason who has worked well

Cerita yang bagus @jiva34 arsitektur yang bagus. Semoga bisa nyaman

And, of course, a lot of this stuff you're finding out AFTER you've done most of your floors...
Sometimes procrastination can be virtuous...

Ha ha. Boy are you smart. Yes. I thought of that before working on the floors. The material world is a funny place. One minute everything is going good, the next minute everything is going bad, the next minute it is going good again, and then bad again, and then good again, and so on and on and on. ... ha ha. I think I got lucky with this. $7500 to encapsulate the crawl space and put a dehumidifier down there??? thank God, Hare Krishna, they couldn't do it Too low to the ground to get under there. So I was unhappy.... but I was also happy.. who the hell has $7500 to do that anyway. I sure don't. But I still have to live here. What to do? what to do? I was learning more and more about what caused the problem . Now I see the moisture problem had been complicated by a leak in the roof. There was water coming into the walls right in that poor air circulation area. But the roof was replaced last month. So it is drying out in there and I am also noticing the musty odor is decreasing. The mason has some ideas how to open the space up for circulation. Cheap remedy, he quoted $350. I could probably do it myself. Knock out the concrete patch where the a/c metal duct work is blocking everything and just pull the duct work out and put in another vent. It probably won't need a fan after that. If it does no big deal.....$7500? Sheesh....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66