My first home - Concept to completion part 1 (Exterior)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

UPDATE! I've posted part 2! It can be found in the link below.
My first home - Concept to completion part 2 (Interior)

Have you ever had the chance to build a home from the ground up?

Over the past few years I was lucky enough to have the chance to build my first home (beside my siblings). The process was not easy, the cost was not cheap but at the end of the day it was worth it.

Since this was a family project and not a single person had any experience building homes, project managing, or designing we had to enlist the help of professionals. We visited several show homes of local home builders but ultimately ended up with a company named Alloy Homes.

If anyone has built a home, they would know that it is not as easy as it seems. Especially since this was a custom home I had the ability to select just about anything. I did have guidance from the designer but I was always hesitant of choosing something incorrectly. I had so many questions that I needed answers for.

Do I need double or triple pane windows?
What kind of siding should be used?
What color stucco?
Closed or open riser stairs?
Carpet in the basement and rooms?
What color cabinets should I get?
Which appliances?

and the list goes on and on and on. Luckily we live in a time where you can find answers to just about anything with a simple google search. So that’s what I did.

One resource I found myself using and highly recommend is a website called Houzz. You can sort the pictures by style and save the ones that you like. The best thing you can do when building a home is have pictures of things that you like. This will help you at all stages.

It would be hard to cover the process from start to finish, and to be honest I think I would bore you to death. But I would be more than happy to answer any questions that anyone might have just leave a reply below.

Now to the fun stuff. I’ll take you through the building process with pictures!

1.JPG
A conceptual sketch of the building

2.JPG

The first rendering, unfortunately due to fire code we were unable to have a 4th floor with a balcony without having a cement staircase. Which is super expensive.

3.JPG
A birds eye view rendering with the 4th floor removed.

This is where it started to get exciting. To see the ground being excavated and the foundation about to be poured.
4.JPG

5.JPG

Right after the foundation was poured the framing started. This was probably the quickest part of the whole build. One day I stopped by the site and there was nothing framed, a few days later 2 floors were framed. Then the third.
6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG

Once the house was framed and the roof was on. The stucco and hardie board siding was applied.
9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

13.JPG

And here is the finished product. These pictures were taken by Marie-Helene Bilodeau for Alloy to submit to the Canadian Home Builders Association Awards, which we later won the Best Multi Family Project in Canada over 1500 square feet for 2017.
14.JPG

15.JPG

Thanks for viewing everyone!

Sort:  

Really exciting - I've always wanted to do this. thanks for sharing the photos of before, during and after - really inspiring

I wish I was using Steemit when this project started. I would have known what angles to take the pictures from and I think I would have done it weekly so you can see real progress. I'm still glad you liked it! Thank you!

So no concrete was used except for foundation?? In India we never use wood for framing. Too risky even though it's cheap.

Concrete was only used for the foundation, it's pretty normal around here for that. I would say 99.9% of houses are framed with wood here in Calgary. We were thinking about putting concrete party walls up but then it would cost way too much money and cut into the square footage of the homes.

also in continental Europe, bricks, steel and concrete are used for the most buildings, wood is used rather seldom

That is very interesting, almost all the houses in NA have wood frames I believe. I just posted part 2! Check it out if you get a chance.

Nice project ! Congrats to you :)

The place looks great. Very modern, which I personally like. But the really eye-catching features are the windows and lighting. They created some great lines and from the pictures it seems as if they carry all the way through the interior of the house. Great work, thanks for posting your pictures.

This architecture is amazing would definitely have my future home build by your team!! Love the start -finish photos A+++

Thank you! I’ll be posting some interior shots early next week. I hope you will enjoy that as well!

You did well not having any experience in building a home whoever help you did a wonderful job.upvote & resteem
Thank you for sharing @mannyfig1956

Thank you. I just posted part 2, I hope you will have a look!

That's good of you. But a homeless really knows the real charm of a new house

Home sweet home.
Nice skecth. And nice project

Thank you for the comments!

You are welcome

That s amazing man. My dream house!

Thanks man! I hope to post another blog early next week with the interior. I hope you get to see it.

@jimmylin So much information thanks for sharing.

I didn't even think there would be this much interest. Maybe I will do an interior blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52