Vigilance or paranoia?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It is healthy, I think, to presume that everyone is a potential enemy.
It you deal with others in such a fashion, it will give you the upper hand in any situation.
Most people think that the concept of "enemy" is reserved for epic stories.
Not so. An enemy can be anyone!
Co-worker. Lover. Clerk.
All it takes is the slightest perception of betrayal. Disrespect. Discontent even.
You don't need a reason really.
Friendship requires reasons. Enemyship does not.
My best friend and I, throughout the years have tested the bonds of our friendship. Not to any real extremes. But tested it has.
As hard as I have looked, I have never found cause to call him an enemy!

But look I did.
I hope he has done the same.
True friendship must be meticuliously examined. Any relationship really.
One might have an enemy living in the same damn house!
Even familal relation must be scrutinized.
Blood hides much a betrayal.
Many folk daren't look at blood for such things. For with out blood, one can truly feel alone. So I understand.

Some may call this paranoia. I call it being vigilant. And vigilance is a virtue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47