Hello Everyone!!!

in #life6 years ago

Hey Steemit! I have just joined this community and I thought it would be rather rude if I don’t get to say Hi to everyone first and talk a little about myself before posting other content.

IMG_9002.jpg

I’m Joshua Familusi, I live in Nigeria. I’m 21 years old and a graduate of Economics. I am an amateur business developer, web developer, digital marketer and Resume Writer (Also learning content development on the side though)

I can hear that “does this kid have fun at all?”

Of course I do!

Reason why I developed those skills was because of the pressure I was faced with during my teenage years; always comparing myself with others and feeling like I was left behind (I don’t feel that way anymore though). The path of self-realization was quite tasking for me, so I kept on jumping from one skill to the next interesting one. Don’t get me wrong, I have profited a lot from them, but growing up has been an eye opener for me; I will get to that shortly but first, I’d like to mention some of my experiences gotten from these skills.

I started out as a web developer; I ventured into this skill because I had just gotten in touch with a friend of mine who was a JavaScript demon, he talked about what he did with so much passion and enthusiasm and since I was still confused about what I wanted, I decided to check “programming” out. The basics were so simple because his enthusiasm lit a fire in me to want to be like him; after 3 weeks of dibbling and dabbling in it, I got tired and dropped it. I later made an agreement with him to bring clients his way, for a 35% cut of what the client paid for business. Through that, I started advising him on how to grow his business and make it more attractive for clients, I even went ahead to create local adverts on social media; this was what built my Business Development skill.

I got tired of that too, and I decided to take a class on digital marketing because my sister was one. She convinced me to take the class to improve my marketing skills, which I did but eventually dropped after a few gigs.

All this time I was still in school so I wasn’t really bothered about expenses, I just wanted to find something interesting to do.

During the summer holiday, in my third year in school, I decided to get a job without the help of nepotism. This meant I had to construct an attractive resume and cover letter; things I knew nothing about. With the help of google and a few eyes to correct my errors, I rewrote my resume 11 times before I got something good. This hard process was how I learnt Resume writing which made quite a lot of money for me.

However, my eye opener came when I had an auto crash on the 13th of December 2017 (last year). It was terrible, however I survived and recovered within two months.

IMG_4128.JPG

During my period of recovery, I realized life was too short and anyone could leave this earth at any time; I asked myself a lot of times while on the hospital bed if I lived a full life. If I had fun, if I had friends that I made beautiful memories with, if I made my family happy, if I did the things I LOVE, and I had no answer to most of these questions. I love traveling and exploring new places but I either never have the time or finances for that. I have always dreamt of skydiving, but I have never gotten the opportunity to do such; I have always dreamt of going to other countries to see the people and their culture but I have never had that chance.

So on that sick bed, I decided I was going to change my priorities, I decided my happiness was going to come first; the accident left me with a scar which stays as a reminder to tell me how fickle life is and how stupid I would be if I don’t make the most of this.

IMG_4801.jpg

The scar pushed me to tell the world of my experience with just written words, which is why I decided to take up online classes on content development.

Steemit is an amazing social media that will help build my writing skills while also making money from it; I look forward to meeting other Steemians on here and when opportune, to travel out of my country and explore the world.

Well, that’s me in a nutshell; I am just starting out here but I believe I will make a difference here and help in expanding this community.

In my next post, I will be sharing my “near death experience with you guys”.

Feel free to comment below, let’s get talking.

Thank you

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steem Joshua

thank you @tokenman. i appreciate this. i should follow you so i can see your posts.

First of all, welcome! You have a lot of skills and i am sure there will be some nice posts to find of you in the future. I am a web developer to so at least we have something in comment. It is nice to read that you know the value of having fun and doing things you like. That is also important in this community. Sure you will earn from your posts but doing what you love to do makes it easier to hold on when earnings are low at some point. It is a nice community here and very soon the joy of writing for the community and learning from each others expiriences will become more important than the earnings themselfs ;)

it's really nice to meet another developer here and i can's wait to share other posts on here. thank you very much for your comment. It means a lot.

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,It takes patience,commitment,perseverance and dedication to succeed on steemit.you can follow me @donkelly

i sure agree with you. it is gonna take patience and commitment because i am eager to improve my creative writing skills. I am gonna follow you now @donkelly

Thanks bro,enjoy the ride

welcome @jibolafam to steemit comunitty

Here is my first upvote to you and hopefully many more!

DQmaAZhyJr7Hc8c2Qy55nYJyKrDESUEbPkK6jAEhDDNEN1X (1).jpg

looool, thank you @truce. you won't be dissappointed.

Hi Joshua how are you? Welcome on Steemit my friend and really cool intro - i like it ! I would like to connect with other cool and friendly steemians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

I totally agree with you and i understand the importance of family. @communicasound Nice to meet you too. I would also love to travel to Paris some day.

The pictures and stories i have heard of your beautiful country :).

Welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and keep posting. :)

thank you so much; yes i will. and you too :) @lopezdacruz

Hey Joshua welcome :), come and join us on Discord Steemit School you can learn a lot of staff about success here also you can meet a lot of people from Steemit there. There is post promotion section so you can promote your posts to get bigger rewards. This is the link: https://discord.gg/fVTVpdy

thank you @magnifik, i will check it out

Congratulations @jibolafam, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

thank you very much @steem-network(-1)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30