I HAD A GIRLFRIEND...

in #life6 years ago

images (25).jpeg

I had a girlfriend who was my best friend. She was the cutest creature I had ever known, with eyes filled with glee and a smile of pure innocence.

We spent most of our time smiling without speaking. I brought up an idea of making vows of which I read out while she did the nodding.
As foolish and blinded by love as I was, I couldn't summon up the courage to ask her why she only did the nodding.

I requested a lot of gifts on special occasions like birthdays, Christmas and Valentine but got nothing apart from silence and absence.
With all these pains and sorrows I was ready to endure in love to the end.

I spent most of my nights crying and days smiling not that I was happy but because I needed to.

This fateful night, the atmosphere was gloomy and soon it started raining outside. I watched the rain hit hard on the flowers and pavements as if they were the cause of its misfortune.
I felt pity for the pavements which had no feet to move away from the canopy of rain's wrath and the plants which had but were stuck to mother earth.

I had been sitting alone for hours now but I wasn't sad because I was anticipating a night of cuddle that night .

My girlfriend returned sooner and I felt a rush of grace . Turning around to give her a hug, I met a raised hand signalling a need to halt.
She went straight to my wardrobe and started packing. Met with confusion and fear, my eyes gave way for my tear glands .
I followed her out the door into the heavy rain when she was done packing. In spite of my persistent questioning, she uttered no word and that was when it dawned on me that she was dumb.

images (26).jpeg

Filled with terror aside from the confusion and pain, my mind started to wonder. I wondered whom I had been with all this while, not until then that I realised she wasn't human, she was too cold to be human, she was a Ghost!

She waved me goodbye without any explanation yet with a broad smile plastered to her vague face. Without looking around, I felt the pavements and plants which I earlier mocked were now staring with wide eyes because mine was different, I had legs, I was human yet I couldn't move .

I felt I would become the rain but I was still me. I thought of possible ways to wake myself, because to me it wasn't real, just a dream. Was I even real?That was supposed to be a rhetorical question but the rain replied for I still felt it on my fallen shoulders.

I felt my rib cage was robbed of its treasure or perhaps it was the earth that ran out of oxygen. In an instant, a collection of memories hit my skull. Was that from the creator? If she really existed then I wish she made me soluble instead of sending me packages. Perhaps, I was in a state of partial amnesia but I remembered something. I remembered our first meeting, I remembered our introductions and then again I remembered her name. Her name is LIFE.
Life isn't human but if only it was, then it would be African because LIFE isn't fair.

Life listens but doesn't speak, LIFE is dumb.
Life laughs at us when it sees that we lack courage in taking risks to move forward.
Life doesn't have a heart. It's too cold to care for your feelings. Your happiness is in your palm.
Life leaves on an unexpected day.

You have life? Live well with it but be cautious. ...LIFE isn't a permanent partner.

Have a blissful day Steemians!!!

images (27).jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91