Fathers Day for me

in #life7 years ago

Fathers day for me growing up was always a bit depressing, I grew up without my real father, and had a few step dads along the way, who were mostly total jerks. My Mother left my biological father when I was a baby, so I have no memories of him. I wish I would have had a good father figure growing up, but sadly I didn't.

Fast forward to 2010 and my then girlfriend and I discovered she was pregnant. I had not ever planned on having children. I just kinda figured it wasn't for me, and I thought would probably suck at being a dad anyway. But obviously God had different plans.
28292_446972478905_7425998_n.jpg

So on May 26 2010 I became a father to my son Noah and my world changed forever. It was no longer about my needs and what I wanted, I now had to take care of this little preemie baby. After a week of him staying in the hospital, he was finally able to come home.
Fathers Day 2.jpg
Being that I never had a good father figure. I didn't, and still don't really know what a good dad looks like, but I do my best to provide for him, meets his needs, and make sure he feels safe. My goal has always been to make sure he turns out better than I did. And you know what? So far I don't think I'm doing too bad. He's a sweet kid with a heart of gold. He always puts others first, he's sensitive to others feelings, and hes always kind to others.
Fathers Day 3.jpg

I've learned that while I am spending a lot of time teaching him things, he has also taught me a few things along the way.

I can honestly say, that my son being born was the best thing to ever happen to me, he is my best friend and I wouldn't trade it for the world.
IMG_20170618_144043.jpg

if you enjoyed this article, please consider following me @jhip626 upvoting and resteeming

thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67