Standing in line with Van Gogh and Pablo at the art Gallery

in #life7 years ago

It all started on a warm summer afternoon.

My dear friend and art gallery owner was having an art exhibit. On afternoons like this, my husband and I would hire a babysitter. Due to an imminent work deadline, my husband was unable to come.

So like any self-respecting​ parent, I brought my daughter. My daughter's amazing, she's smart, funny, playful, kind, and witty. Oh yeah and she's 3 years old.

I tell her to go get dressed and she puts together an outfit that could only be equal to a Halloween​ costume. But hey, it's an art exhibit, people will appreciate the thought.

We arrive at the exhibit and I'm handed a delicious glass of champagne, or "mom juice," as I like to call it.

In we walk when my daughter says,

"Mom who arted in here"? I knew in that moment I had failed. I immediately thought, why didn't I come up with that joke?

I turn to my daughter and say, "Sweetie, I don't know but the smell will pass." We circle the room and I go over colors and shapes and ask her what she thinks about several varying art pieces.

I showed her one that caught my attention of an intricately painted owl. I told my 3-year old that owls were nocturnal.

My daughter responded, “Yes, owls are not turtles.”

"That's right hunny". I responded.

We finished touring the gallery and said hi to a few familiar faces. Afterwards, I took her to her favourite gelato place and she enjoyed a scoop of stracciatela.

I told her that she was the perfect date to an afternoon outing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54