Screw filters and perfection: learning to love life

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Since when did we become a society where putting a fake face on our lives is more fashionable and popular then showing reality?


I'm not perfect, my life isn't perfect, and I'm OK with that.  Who's life really is perfect.  I'd rather have a house that looks lived in, where love abounds, than a cold, sterile house.  Does anyone actually live there?I'm not perfect, my life isn't perfect, and I'm OK with that.  Who's life really is perfect.  I'd rather have a house that looks lived in, where love abounds, than a cold, sterile house.  Does anyone actually live there?

I'm not ashamed in the least, this was my living room before I even left for work.  I warn everyone that comes over...it looks like Toys r us exploded in my house.  I'm sure many moms understand the frustration, cleaning that lasts ten minutes or less.  Hey, if the boy wants to play, let the boy play.

My former life

I used to be one of those, dyed hair, fake nails, heels and suits everyday.  That was what I thought it took to be happy, be successful in the professional world.  How fast things can change.  Trust the wrong person and get sent away, far from family and friends faster than you could imagine.  

After spending almost four years in the hands of the department of corrections, I've gained an appreciation for the small but simple things in life.  More money, more work, does not equate to happiness in my opinion.  I spent way too much time focusing on my career,  just to have in all fall apart.  Those are years I can't get back with my older kids.  I don't have to do that again.  Yes, we live paycheck to paycheck.  It's not always easy.  But I would much rather spend every evening and weekend with my baby boy than in an office, losing out on seeing him play and grow while I work horrific hours.  

It's absolutely wonderful sitting down and having a little one to chill with at the end of a crazy day. No fanciness needed, just love.

In the end, what is better than seeing your baby sleeping peacefully, knowing that your day gets to start all over again. And it begins with a smile to melt your heart.  He doesn't care about my grey hair (I call it my glitter) or unpainted nails.  Hugs are much more important.

So I guess the moral of this convoluted story is, enjoy life simply, love your life, and never take family for granted.  Life can go in unexpected directions in the blink of an eye.

h


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45