What does it mean to be present?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

What does it mean to be present?

20170609_160704 (1).jpg
For me it means to only think about the world my physical senses can grasp at a specific moment. "The sun is hitting the plants, the creek is hitting the rocks, the breeze is cooling my face, the wildflowers smell AMAZING, the glacier water is soaking my shoes, the wind is howling through the trees, the moss smells fresh and musty at the same time, the mosquitoes are assholes."
2017-06-09-21-41-49-545 (1).jpg
But seriously, makes it so you are fully engaged with the tangible surroundings, not thinking about before, not thinking about what comes next.
20170614_172524.jpg
It gives you a place to go back to, when you're in a moment less appealing to the senses, like stuck in a red light, every five seconds, in Florida.
2017-06-08-13-47-01-138.jpg
It makes it so you form memories outside of the pictures you take. "Climbing up a hill, overwhelmed by my surroundings, trees in every direction, un-sturdy rocks beneath my feet, fresh soil and pine in the air, fresh soil on my face cuz I'm tripping over a log." It doesn't matter what it is. Being present is healing. There are no what ifs, there are no "well last time ____" It's just what is. And it's freeing.
2017-06-06-00-18-11-263.jpg

Please upvote, comment, and re-steem.
Let me know what kinds of posts you'd like to see from me.

My passions:
Nutrition, specifically plant based/raw vegan nutrition, fasting, and detox "science"
Hiking
Animal Liberation
Self Love/Body Freedom/Feminism
Being FREE in general. That means free from schedules, laws, rules, time, constraints, etc.

Sort:  

lol @ mosquitos. That last picture btw is sooo beautiful. Are those tree branches in that crystal clear lake?

Yep, HUGE ones, I'm actually sitting on one I climbed out on :)

that's sooooo cool :D i should STEEM about memorial weekend: a friend and i rented a 2-person kayak, and we kayaked out to some islands (8 hours out almost) and had an AWESOME weekend! no tents, no sleeping bags, NO MOSQUITOS, fire, and you could see the milky way! <3 (no moon either)

That's amazing. I'm regretting not spending more time looking at the sky when I was in Montana. It got dark out SO LATE that I was usually inside by the time the stars came out.

There's always next time. And yes, steem about it :0

Also you don't need to grasp anything at all, just be and you'll be submerged beautifully with everything.

That's the goal :) Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31